usb wireless can't access ooma/setup page now

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
seltaeb24
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:23 am

usb wireless can't access ooma/setup page now

Post by seltaeb24 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:28 am

Newbie here from Canada and I luv my ooma, I have it set up with the usb wireless adapter. I want to access the setup page but it seems right now the only way I can do it is to bring the telo downstairs and hard wire it to my computer. I have tried using the 172.27.35.1 with firefox and does not work. Any help would be appreciated, cheers

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: usb wireless can't access ooma/setup page now

Post by lbmofo » Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:44 am

If plan to use Ooma using wifi adapter (or put it after the router) and never put it in front of the router, you should setup port forwarding rule within Ooma setup page so you can access http://setup.ooma.com without having to connect your computer to the "Home Network" port in the future. viewtopic.php?t=11921#p83732

Once port forwarding done, you can access the setup.ooma.com page by going to the IP address given to your wifi adapter by your router (example: 192.168.1.xxx, or 192.168.0.xxx); you can setup DHCP reservation for your Ooma wifi adapter so you know it would not change.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

seltaeb24
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:23 am

Re: usb wireless can't access ooma/setup page now

Post by seltaeb24 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 9:07 pm

Thanks all, I love this unit so far.

seltaeb24
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:23 am

Re: usb wireless can't access ooma/setup page now

Post by seltaeb24 » Wed Nov 28, 2012 4:22 pm

2 Thumps up to thunderbird again, followed your instructions and no problem, never thought of rebooting computer.

Post Reply