Porting FORM question

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Porting FORM question

Post by caseybea » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:02 pm

As I (almost) finished the online form for porting... towards the bottom there is a section with about 8 lines of data:

Ooma Subscriber
Phone number to be ported
(and a few other things)

then there are:
"Account holder date of birth" and
"Last 4 digits of social security number".

It is not clear WHICH account holder they're asking for here? (OOMA account, or landline being ported account?)

Our landline is in my wife's name, but the ooma account is in my name.

there are enough problems people report with the porting process-- I want to get the above 100% right so I don't get this process screwed up.

Can anyone clarify which person (ooma ccount holder, or landline account holder) the DOB and SSN items are for?

thanks
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

tonyquan
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 8:09 pm

Re: Porting FORM question

Post by tonyquan » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:13 am

I think you're going to run into problems with this. Most phone providers won't allow a port unless both accounts are held by the same person. Check out this page:

http://www.voipmechanic.com/porting.htm

"Billing names do not match" is a standard reason given to not allow a port.

hpepper
Posts: 752
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:29 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio

Re: Porting FORM question

Post by hpepper » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:12 am

tonyquan wrote:I think you're going to run into problems with this. Most phone providers won't allow a port unless both accounts are held by the same person. Check out this page:

http://www.voipmechanic.com/porting.htm

"Billing names do not match" is a standard reason given to not allow a port.
It can be hit or miss on the billing names not matching. I ported using a different name AND address and it went through fine. Some carriers can be picky about the process if they want to.

murphy
Posts: 7241
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Porting FORM question

Post by murphy » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:40 am

caseybea wrote:As I (almost) finished the online form for porting... towards the bottom there is a section with about 8 lines of data:

Ooma Subscriber
Phone number to be ported
(and a few other things)

then there are:
"Account holder date of birth" and
"Last 4 digits of social security number".

It is not clear WHICH account holder they're asking for here? (OOMA account, or landline being ported account?)

Our landline is in my wife's name, but the ooma account is in my name.

there are enough problems people report with the porting process-- I want to get the above 100% right so I don't get this process screwed up.

Can anyone clarify which person (ooma ccount holder, or landline account holder) the DOB and SSN items are for?

thanks
The want the data for the phone account that you are porting from. They need to verify that you are the actual owner of the account and not someone trying to steal the number.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Porting FORM question

Post by caseybea » Thu Jan 21, 2010 7:22 am

OK, thank you. I figure if I have all the information 100% correct, that increases my chances of this not going badly :|
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Porting FORM question

Post by amoney » Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:02 am

I had the same situation.

The landline was in my wifes name as well.

I entered her information for the account holder.

The Ooma account was under my name.

PORT was successfull.

(ATT)
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

Post Reply