Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
mitch77
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:44 pm

Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by mitch77 » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:40 pm

I am on my 8th month of getting ripped off.

If I get a call while I am talking to someone I can
"flash" over to the 2nd call.
However when I try and switch back I can hear them but
they can never hear me...not once has it worked.

I only paid $99 for the upgrade for the call waiting and I have gotten 8 months of grief.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by bw1 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:20 am

You may want to post your configuration info - Telo or Hub, using scout or handset, connected to a router, etc.

Also, call waiting is part of the basic features, Premier is not necessary to have call waiting.
Bundled calling features

Enjoy the convenience of caller-ID and call-waiting— at no extra charge.

mitch77
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by mitch77 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 1:00 pm

MY CONFIGURATION:

Hub; NOT Telo
No Scout - (6 phone set - Panasonic)
Cable modem to router to Hub
Router: Buffalo WHR-G54s running Tomato software

Anything else I can answer?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by bw1 » Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:42 pm

You could try connecting the hub directly to the cable modem to see if that resolves the problem.

Also, have you turned off QOS or set the Modem Port MAC address to Use Built-In?

mitch77
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by mitch77 » Wed Jul 07, 2010 1:47 am

QOS is off
The MAC addy is listed in the device column

Can you tell me how to "set the Modem Port MAC address to Use Built-In" ?
Or explain another way so I can do it.

thanks

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by bw1 » Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:02 am

Is QOS off on the Hub, not router?

To change MAC to use built-in, go to http://setup.ooma.com and then select Network Settings. You'll see a selection to change, like this:
MODEM Port MAC Address
Automatic:
Use Built in:
Use Custom:

You need to connect a computer directly to the Home port on the Hub.

Also, did you try connecting directly to the cable modem to see if that fixed the problem?

mitch77
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by mitch77 » Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:19 pm

On my original setup I was not able to have internet working when I went through the OOMA 1st.
(modem to OOMA to router)

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:17 am

Maybe you didn't properly power cycle the modem the first time? Need to shutdown the modem (if battery type, remove the battery) while ooma is off. Turn on modem, wait until it comes online and then power up the ooma.

As for the Built in MAC address topic: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8045&start=0
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by bw1 » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:25 am

mitch77 wrote:On my original setup I was not able to have internet working when I went through the OOMA 1st.
(modem to OOMA to router)
Then you never tested to see if the router is causing your problem.

mitch77
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 12:44 pm

Re: Waiting call can't hear me after reconnect

Post by mitch77 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:00 am

OK,

But going through the OOMA 1st killed my internet connection.
*AND*
I have 2 Blu Ray players with internet streaming
a Samsung TV with internet streaming
a HAVA Internet streamer
a MediaGate HD Streamer
an Xbox 360 (online gaming)
and about 6 different computers (all get online)
and not one of them has any issue with the router.
(It is considered one of the best routers ever made I am told)

What exactly does the OOMA have or do that would make it hypersensitive?
Or why would my router be picking on the OOMA?
The OOMA MAC is listed in the Tomato "Device List" like everything else.
It seems to do everything except completely reconnect after a call waiting transfer.

Thanks

Post Reply