Using with Asterisk server

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
newsite
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:21 am

Using with Asterisk server

Post by newsite » Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:50 am

Has anyone tried to integrate Ooma with an Asterisk server or other VOIP server so as to be able to do away with the Ooma hardware and just use the credentials one's Ooma account ? We have multiple Ooma accounts that we would like to hook into our Switchvox system but without the physical hardware use of the Ooma.

Any input is greatly appreciated !!!

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
caseybea
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Using with Asterisk server

Post by caseybea » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:09 pm

Since ooma's mainstream source of income is the sale of its boxes (hubs, telos) - I have to assume here that what you're requesting would well, basically be ignored by them. In other words, by you using your 'own' hardware, what's in it for them?
Ooma Hub customer since January 2010
Telo2 upgrade (hub retired) October 2016
Service Level: Core

raxxal
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:38 pm

Re: Using with Asterisk server

Post by raxxal » Sun Mar 28, 2010 7:41 am

newsite wrote:Has anyone tried to integrate Ooma with an Asterisk server or other VOIP server so as to be able to do away with the Ooma hardware and just use the credentials one's Ooma account ? We have multiple Ooma accounts that we would like to hook into our Switchvox system but without the physical hardware use of the Ooma.

Any input is greatly appreciated !!!

Thanks in advance.

This will not make sense. The OOMA hardware is very expensive. They try to make some money ahead of time. If you have an Asterisk server, you better get either a SIP phone, or an ATA for $50.00 like Cisco brand. I have an Asterisk server at home, and I have the Cisco SPA2102, it works very well.

The OOMA hardware is proprietary, I know is uses Linux OS, but you have not control of it. VOIP is not that hard but not easy by the same token, so you need control of your hardware, OOMA don't allow that.

User avatar
Davesworld
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:06 pm
Location: Everett, Wa
Contact:

Re: Using with Asterisk server

Post by Davesworld » Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:01 pm

I thought Ooma does plan to release sip credentials so people can use the voip feature of their cellphones? Once you bought the hardware, you already paid in advance but you have to have a paid for active Ooma device. I'm not sure if there are plans to just offer a BYOD plan which would require monthly or yearly payments.

As far as Linux based, the majority of ATAs out there are, the Hub uses Asterisk, the Telo uses Freeswitch. Freeswitch supports Google Voice.

Post Reply