Who actually has Telo Firmware Version 35170

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Who actually has Telo Firmware Version 35170

Post by highq » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:15 am

No, there's no blocking of outgoing TCP at all. In my IP logs. I see the Telo connecting to port 443 at 208.83.244.145.

I also see it connecting to DNS at 4.2.2.4 and 4.2.2.5, ignoring my nameserver which I entered into its configuration, and other connections to ports 514 and 1154, among others.

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Who actually has Telo Firmware Version 35170

Post by Aveamantium » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:21 am

Have you tried disabling your firewall in your router? This is assuming you have the Telo behind a router... My guess is it is "trying" to connect to port 443 (outgoing) but your firewall is blocking incoming traffic on this port.
Go AVS!

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Who actually has Telo Firmware Version 35170

Post by highq » Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:52 am

All outgoing ports are open and my ipfilter rules keep state for any outbound connection, so whatever needs to come back can do so.

Sample log entries (208.33.244.145 is an ooma site, 198.207.210.252 is my Telo):

30/03/2010 13:49:02.090377 net0 @0:1 p 208.83.244.145,443 -> 198.207.210.252,50042 PR tcp len 20 1500 -AP K-S OUT
30/03/2010 13:49:02.090377 net0 @0:1 p 198.207.210.252,50042 -> 208.83.244.145,443 PR tcp len 20 52 -A K-S IN
30/03/2010 13:49:02.100377 net0 @0:1 p 208.83.244.145,443 -> 198.207.210.252,50042 PR tcp len 20 1500 -AP K-S OUT
30/03/2010 13:49:02.100377 net0 @0:1 p 198.207.210.252,50042 -> 208.83.244.145,443 PR tcp len 20 52 -A K-S IN

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Who actually has Telo Firmware Version 35170

Post by highq » Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:17 pm

Well I had occasion to reboot my computer just now. It acts as a router, with my ADSL line coming in to a static IP on one NIC, while assorted local devices, including the Telo, attach (with their own static IPs) to the second NIC.

The reboot somehow provoked the Telo into upgrading itself, and it is now blessed with version 35452 of Ooma's software.

Thanks to those who chimed in on this thread.

Post Reply