Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
fthomasson
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:54 am

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by fthomasson » Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:26 am

If this problem started for any of the Telo users today, it may have something to do with the new Telo firmware 1.35170 that was rolled out to most Telo users last night.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by Groundhound » Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:30 am

fthomasson wrote:If this problem started for any of the Telo users today, it may have something to do with the new Telo firmware 1.35170 that was rolled out to most Telo users last night.
Re-read the post just before yours and you will see that's not likely the issue.

murphy
Posts: 7176
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by murphy » Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:18 pm

Did you disable the connection tone? 10 digit dialing has nothing to do with the problem.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
dpierce
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by dpierce » Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:36 pm

Yes, that is disabled. I've never like it.

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by Dennis P » Fri Mar 19, 2010 9:52 pm

After a little debugging, it does look like the problem was introduced by the upgrade to 35170. Calls to certain toll-free numbers can take longer to connect and cause the IVR system to timeout. We are looking into options to workaround the problem. In the meantime, if you have issues reaching a number, please PM the phone number you are trying to reach as well as the last 6 digits of your MAC address. We can put you back on 33190 until we have a better plan. Thanks.

User avatar
dpierce
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by dpierce » Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:01 pm

When I'm wrong, I'm really wrong. Dennis messaged me about this and found that I was actually on version 33190 before the upgraded to 35170 last night. They backed me backed down and I am happy to say that I can dial my 866 numbers again. Thanks guys for the great response and taking my problem as seriously as you did. It was appreciated greatly.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by Groundhound » Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:12 pm

FWIW, I have version 35170 and have not yet run into a problem yet with TFN's. Here's an example of one that works fine for me, 800-922-4684 (Wachovia).

User avatar
wildbill
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:21 pm

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by wildbill » Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:21 pm

I made a couple of test calls to TFN's and the IRV answered and responded to all my keypad DTMF. No problem here so far.

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Can't Dial Toll Free - ATT Teleconference 866 Numbers

Post by bw1 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 6:16 pm

dpierce wrote:This is my livelihood. If I can't dial into my meetings then I don't get paid.
I see from a later post that this was resolved for you, but if what you say above is true, you really should consider a backup to your Ooma service. You never know when they may have an issue that's out of their control, like with a carrier they partner with.

You could get a prepaid or pay as you go cell phone or another VoIP service as a back up. You can get one of those as back up pretty cheaply.

You can research it here:
http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=249
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/voip
http://www.dslreports.com/gbu
http://www.cellguru.net/prepaid_compare.htm

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Cannot dial a Toll Free Number (TFN)

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:04 pm

I use a toll free number (888) and I get through fine with 35170.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Post Reply