New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
jstock
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:09 am
Location: Minnesota

New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by jstock » Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:13 am

I just picked one up from Best Buy it works fine, but the power plug dislodges from the back of the unit with only the slightest movement. It doesn't seem like a design decision, more a defect. I'm wondering if I just got 'lucky' or if anyone else has experienced this?

Thanks.
Ooma user since: October 2009
Hardware: Ooma Telo & two Telo Handsets
Annual Premier subscriber
Being free of monthly phone bills: Priceless

bryanlyle
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by bryanlyle » Tue Oct 06, 2009 3:44 am

I would send a Direct Message to Dennis P and let him know about your issue. There was a problem with early production units having shorter than normal power plugs.
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by WayneDsr » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:40 am

I had one too and it's a real pain. I imagine ooma thought they got rid of all those out in the field.
Do what bryanlyle suggests and I'm sure they will take care of you.

Wayne

jstock
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:09 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by jstock » Tue Oct 06, 2009 8:57 am

Message sent. While I didn't want to have to deal with this, I'm impressed. The first time it happened was during the initial download and the unit managed to recover. That's a fairly good design, I was expecting it to be a paper weight when I realized power had been interrupted.

dsmith3d
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:37 am

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by dsmith3d » Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:44 am

Please keep this thread updated with any response you get. I would prefer not to flood the OOMA guy with more PMs about the same thing, but I also am experiencing a problematicly short power connector. The slightest movement will disconnect the power (I have cats and kids.. so unless I lock the Telo away in an unusable spot, is impossible to avoid).

Thanks!

nrs
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:45 am
Location: WI

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by nrs » Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:18 am

jstock - Can you post a picture of the plug attached to the unit?
Thanks
Customer since March 2009
Hub/Scout
Telo/2 Handsets
2 Lynxes

Lifetime Premier Member

jstock
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:09 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by jstock » Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:14 am

Dennis P got back to me and they are shipping me a new adapter.
Pic is the best I could do, but hopefully it's clear enough.
http://www.jlsnet.org/ooma_power.jpg

nrs
Posts: 444
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 11:45 am
Location: WI

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by nrs » Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:52 am

Mine is same as yours, but it fits just ok.
Customer since March 2009
Hub/Scout
Telo/2 Handsets
2 Lynxes

Lifetime Premier Member

jstock
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:09 am
Location: Minnesota

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by jstock » Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:03 pm

Strange. I guess I'll see if the new one provides any improvement. Where I have it now, it should stay put, but like dsmith3d I also have a cat who's extremely curious.

I suppose it depends on what you mean by fits just okay. I could say the same about mine if the Telo is completely still and untouched, but it has slipped out twice even from touching the buttons if I'm not extremely careful.
Ooma user since: October 2009
Hardware: Ooma Telo & two Telo Handsets
Annual Premier subscriber
Being free of monthly phone bills: Priceless

bryanlyle
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: New Telo Power Plug very loose fitting

Post by bryanlyle » Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:45 pm

Does your power plug go all the way into the Telo? No metal from the plug showing?

I believe the newer plugs do NOT sit flush.
follow me on twitter: @bryanlyle

Post Reply