Ooma DMZ, router internet address different

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
scarson6
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:44 am

Ooma DMZ, router internet address different

Post by scarson6 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:34 am

Setup = modem>Ooma>router (LinkSys WRT110)

So I have Ooma's DHCP starting and ending at 172.27.35.2 and that address is also DMZ'd. I go to my router and it says its internet address is 172.27.36.3.

How is this possible? How can I fix it? Thanks!

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Ooma DMZ, router internet address different

Post by murphy » Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:53 am

The router already had that address before you changed the ooma DHCP server. Either log into the router and do a release and renew of it's IP address or power cycle the router.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

scarson6
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:44 am

Re: Ooma DMZ, router internet address different

Post by scarson6 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:17 am

Well, I power cycled my router and it came back with 172.27.36.4.

Both my Ooma and Router are configured PPPOE - would that make a difference? Should my router be DHCP or static?

Thanks for your help!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Ooma DMZ, router internet address different

Post by Groundhound » Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:27 am

Try DHCP for the WAN in the router. The hub should be handling PPPoE.

scarson6
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:44 am

Re: Ooma DMZ, router internet address different

Post by scarson6 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:46 am

BINGO! That problem is solved - thanks!

Actually it turns out that the Ooma is in Automatic mode, so I'm still unable to confirm a forwarded port.

So now I believe that if I put my AT&T DSL modem into bridge mode and use the Ooma as the PPPOE device, I'll have no problem with port forwarding, yes?

scarson6
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:44 am

Re: Ooma DMZ, router internet address different

Post by scarson6 » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:06 am

Still no confirmed port forwarded. Perhaps I'll try a reboot of all components.

Current config = modem, bridged > Ooma, PPPoE > router, DHCP > computer with static IP.

If anyone sees any trouble spots or knows of anything else I should try, I'm all ears.

Post Reply