Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
#14021 by arec
Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:46 am
Hi! I need help with this - I am new to Ooma. My number was just ported and my landline was just disconnected.

Now, whenever the phone rings, as well as when the phone is in use, the internet disconnects and I can't use it on the computer. So I can't use the internet and the phone at the same time. This happens even if I don't answer the phone - whenever it rings the internet disconnects and then connects again after the phone stops ringing. When I am on the phone I can't use the internet at all.

This is a HUGE problem for me since I work from home and need to be able to have 1) reliable internet that does not disconnect, even momentarily and 2) ability to talk on phone and use internet at the same time.

I am waiting for a call back from Ooma customer service but was hoping I could get some help here because a lot of the people on the forum sound more knowledgeable than customer service!
Thanks for your help!
#14022 by atici
Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:50 am
Ok take it easy. It should be sth. simple.

Do you use a router? If you do, did you try moving ooma behind the router:
modem -> router -> ooma

Also do you have dsl or cable? If it's dsl are you sure your phone is not connected in any way to interfere with dsl internet signals. If you use a scout, for test purposes disconnect scout and use hub only and let your phone connect to your ooma hub directly (not to the wall).

Some other relevant posts:
http://forums.ooma.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1652&p=10045&hilit=+internet+disconnect#p10045
http://forums.ooma.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1892&p=12950&hilit=internet+disconnect#p12950
#14023 by southsound
Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:00 am