IP Cam no longer works after OOMA install

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
TRS
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:38 pm

IP Cam no longer works after OOMA install

Post by TRS » Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:54 pm

HELP! Just installed OOMA the other day and everything was fine until I was in work and attempted to access my IP Cam that monitors the pets at home and was unable to access the camera. Everything was fine until OOMA was installed. I did see some older posts with people experiencing the same thing but I do not see anything recent. I am not very technical so I did not quite understand some of the proposed solutions posted across the internet and never actually saw where any proposed solutions worked. On my internal network the camera and everything still works fine, it just the access to the camera remotely where the problem is encountered. I have Cable Modem===>OOMA====>Router====>PC, IP Cam, etc.
... I also tried Cable Modem====>Router====>OOMA, PC, IP Cam, etc. and that did not work either (and thought it would) I really like OOMA but I NEED my IP Cam to work remotely.

Thanks in advance for anyone that can help, Tom

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: IP Cam no longer works after OOMA install

Post by lbmofo » Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:01 pm

Connect modem/router/Ooma and power off everything. Power up modem, wait until online, then router, then Ooma etc.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: IP Cam no longer works after OOMA install

Post by murphy » Sat Mar 17, 2012 4:03 pm

Connect modem - router - Ooma
Connect all of your other devices to the router.
Leave the Home port of the Ooma empty.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

TRS
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: IP Cam no longer works after OOMA install

Post by TRS » Sat Mar 24, 2012 3:52 pm

Thanks! Solution worked perfectly!

Post Reply