Port Forwarding for Internet Remote Desktop

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
LGT06
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:52 pm

Port Forwarding for Internet Remote Desktop

Post by LGT06 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:28 pm

I have my network setup so that my Ooma is connected to my cable-modem, and my router is connected to my Ooma. That is, my Ooma is "behind" my cable-modem and my router is "behind" my Ooma.

I can not get my remote desktop connection port open on the Internet interface. I want to set this up so I can connect to my computer remotely over the Internet. Here is some detailed information and screen shots of how I have tried to configure this...

My desktop has IP 192.168.2.2 and that IP is reserved for my desktop by way of MAC address.

http://i.imgur.com/C849d.png
http://i.imgur.com/ZK3Pp.png

My router has the IP address 172.27.35.10 on the interface that connects to the Ooma.

http://i.imgur.com/Gqj8p.png
http://i.imgur.com/16wgN.png
http://i.imgur.com/LEYay.png

My router has a port forwarding rule setup for port 3389 from 172.27.35.10:3389 to 192.168.2.2:3389.
http://i.imgur.com/meVMK.png

I have verified that my desktop is listening on port 3389, Windows firewall is not running, and I can telnet into port 172.27.35.10:3389, therefore the router's port forwarding rule is working.

I have a port forwarding rule setup on the Ooma so the Internet interface should forward port 3389 to the router at 172.27.35.10:3389.

http://i.imgur.com/y85SF.png

This port forwarding rule in the Ooma is not working. I can not connect to my internet address on port 3389. I have rebooted the Ooma and the router but it still doesn't work.

I have also tried setting the router's IP as a DMZ in Ooma and that doesn't work either.

WTF is going on here :?

If I can't get this to work I'll have to put the Ooma behind my router. I would rather not resort to that so that the telephony packets can have proper priority.

Thanks to anyone who has any input on this.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Port Forwarding for Internet Remote Desktop

Post by lbmofo » Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:38 pm

Have you tried having Ooma give your router a static IP (still DHCP)?

viewtopic.php?t=9965#p80428
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7205
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Port Forwarding for Internet Remote Desktop

Post by murphy » Tue Mar 06, 2012 6:45 pm

Are you testing this from outside of your network?
The Telo does not support loopback so you can't test from inside of your network.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

LGT06
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:52 pm

Re: Port Forwarding for Internet Remote Desktop

Post by LGT06 » Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:03 pm

Wow, I'm surprised by the fast responses here.

I had been testing this from inside my network, I didn't realize that wouldn't work. When I connected into my work machine I could then telnet into my home machine on port 3389. So, surprise surprise, it works.

Thanks, Murphy!

Post Reply