Changing ISP, what do I need to do?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
kargo27
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:08 am

Changing ISP, what do I need to do?

Post by kargo27 » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:51 pm

I'm switching my ISP from Charter to AT&T U-Verse and I'm sure I'll need to have the new ISP ported to my Ooma (or vice versa), right?

What exactly do I need to do, just contact support?

Thanks!

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Changing ISP, what do I need to do?

Post by lbmofo » Thu Feb 16, 2012 6:56 pm

Don't need to do anything. When you get Uverse, just plug Ooma's "To Internet" port into the Uverse device (as you did to cable modem before) and you're done.

FYI, some folks had issues when using Uverse as ISP with their Ooma. I've heard that resetting Uverse device firewall (settings do not change at all but works) helped: viewtopic.php?t=4785
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

jcanavera
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 8:30 am

Re: Changing ISP, what do I need to do?

Post by jcanavera » Fri Feb 17, 2012 12:40 pm

I went from AT&T DSL to Charter service. I turned off my Telo unit. Pulled out cable from the back of the DSL modem and put it into the cable modem. Powered the Telo unit back up and it came up just fine.

kargo27
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:08 am

Re: Changing ISP, what do I need to do?

Post by kargo27 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:22 pm

Great, thank you guys! If I run into any issues, I'll check out that link.

Post Reply