Cordless Phone Problems

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
browwi
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:48 am

Cordless Phone Problems

Post by browwi » Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:10 am

I have had Ooma for about a month. I have my old cordless system plugged to the Telo base. It worked fine for the first few weeks. However, I now cannot get a dial tone to make outgoing calls (the "line in use" light on the base comes on) on my cordless sets. I can receive calls, but they drop off much more often than the Telo handsets.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Cordless Phone Problems

Post by lbmofo » Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:21 am

I'd use a DECT 6 phone. Older cordless phones can interfere with your router, ooma.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

lynneblack
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 2:06 pm

Re: Cordless Phone Problems

Post by lynneblack » Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:56 am

I have a DECT 6 phone and have the same problem as the OP

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Cordless Phone Problems

Post by thunderbird » Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:41 am

Remove power from your Modem. Repower the Modem.

Then next try the 20 minutes unpowered Ooma device, then repower the Ooma device.

Also remove power from the cordless phone base while the Ooma is unpowered, then repower the cordless phone base.

browwi
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 8:48 am

Re: Cordless Phone Problems

Post by browwi » Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:25 pm

I unplugged the Ooma base itself for a few seconds and plugged it back in. The problem went away.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Cordless Phone Problems

Post by thunderbird » Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:13 pm

browwi wrote:I unplugged the Ooma base itself for a few seconds and plugged it back in. The problem went away.
Try this next time: Dial *#*#298 - Force configuration sync with Ooma servers.
https://www.ooma.com/app/support/star-c ... oma-device

Post Reply