Need help with Vonage phones on Ooma Telo

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
Wooter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:59 pm

Need help with Vonage phones on Ooma Telo

Post by Wooter » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:20 pm

I switched over to Ooma a couple of months ago and have a problem using my Vonage handsets. When I bought Vonage I received the telephone adapter and a set of cordless phones. There's a base unit which plugs into the home phone wiring and two "slave" units that get their signal from the base phone. None of these phones display caller ID information. Otherwise, they work fine. I have two other cordless handsets that each plug into the house phone wiring - one's an old GE and the other a not-so-old Uniden. These do display the caller ID information. So, the question is: Why do the Vonage phones not display caller ID? Does that work only with Vonage? Also, can you recommend a similar set of cordless phones that do display caller ID when used with a Telo? Thanks.

Edit: The Vonage phones are labled DECT 6.0. The model number on the bottom of the base unit is: MD6400.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Need help with Vonage phones on Ooma Telo

Post by lbmofo » Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:46 pm

The callerid doesn't show even after a ring? Supposed to show up between 1st and 2nd ring.

What happens if you connect the base directly to Telo's "phone" port?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Wooter
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 4:59 pm

Re: Need help with Vonage phones on Ooma Telo

Post by Wooter » Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:19 pm

Still doesn't work. The Vonage phones never show the caller ID. Can you recommend a phone that does work?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Need help with Vonage phones on Ooma Telo

Post by lbmofo » Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:45 pm

Any DECT 6.0 phone system would do. I personally would go pick one up from Costco. Under $20 per handset is good; under $15 per is much better.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Need help with Vonage phones on Ooma Telo

Post by lbmofo » Sat Aug 27, 2011 3:05 am

Not bad.

http://sellout.woot.com/

Refurb Uniden DECT 6.0 Cordless 4 Handset Phone with Digital Answering System
$39.99 + $5 shipping

Uniden_DECT_6_0_Cordless_4_Handset_Phone.jpg
Uniden_DECT_6_0_Cordless_4_Handset_Phone.jpg (64 KiB) Viewed 2651 times
[/size]
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply