Hello All, Porting

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
49panrider
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:31 am

Hello All, Porting

Post by 49panrider » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:33 am

I am new here so bare with me, I have got my ooma up and working with one landline.I have my phone and DSL on the same line. I got in touch with AT&T this morning 1/31/11 and they are going to come out Feb. 11th and put a dry-loop in for my DSL so I can keep my same phone number. My question is if it takes 3 to 4 weeks for the porting to take place should I go ahead and start the porting now with ooma or should I wait until I have the dry-loop installed? Thank's

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by highq » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:45 am

I don't see why they have to send out an installer. Just ask them to keep using the same wire pair to deliver DSL by itself instead of both DSL and dialtone.

Meanwhile, please refrain from asking folks to bare themselves. It may be hard to bear, but this is by way of being a "family forum".

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:18 pm

Because of cost considerations (of having someone come out to do the dry-loop), I've been recommending folks to just port and if DSL service is lost, call landline company to turn the DSL back on. No installation cost involved but with some DSL downtime (1 to 3 days is what I hear).
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

49panrider
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by 49panrider » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:48 pm

I don't understand way I have to have a dry-loop ether, when I try to fill out the info to have my number ported on the ooma (add ons) it ask if my DSL and landline is together and If so check the box. When I do this it tells me I have to have another line for my DSL before it will continue with the porting process, I can't lose my landline I have now because of health issues. Thanks

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:53 pm

If you have sufficient backup such as cell phone, I'd go through without the dry loop and then have the DSL turned on remotely if you lose the DSL once port is complete. So long as you understand that your phone service may be out of order without DSL for several days.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

49panrider
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by 49panrider » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:01 pm

I don't know how to do this now. From what I read on line I will lose my home phone landline if I don't have the dry-loop done.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:04 pm

The only thing you will possibly lose will be the DSL via the porting process. If you can deal with a brief interruption in DSL (this means no ooma phone service), you can port without the dry loop.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

49panrider
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by 49panrider » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:08 pm

Should I not check the box in the porting process?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:12 pm

That's what I'd do to make the process take. If porting runs into issues, you just tell them you don't care if you lose your DSL service. Then, after the port, if you lose DSL, you call your landline company and ask them to turn the DSL back on without having a need to come out.

Once submitted, you can check your port status here: https://my.ooma.com/porting_status
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

49panrider
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Hello All, Porting

Post by 49panrider » Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:16 pm

I am gong to try it the way you say, I thank you alot for all the help!!!

Post Reply