Droid App?

Got something else to discuss that is not covered by the previous forums? Post it here!
Post Reply
gvaisey52
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:32 pm
Location: Rochester, NY * USA

Droid App?

Post by gvaisey52 » Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:56 pm

I just received an email from OOMA about a Droid app...

Any ideas where I can get it?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Droid App?

Post by lbmofo » Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:05 pm

ntoy wrote:Hello,

Here's the link for the android app:

http://www.androidzoom.com/android_appl ... _pzoh.html
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7260
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Droid App?

Post by murphy » Wed Jan 05, 2011 6:52 pm

It's also available in the Android Market on your phone where all of the other Android apps are found.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

zten
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:56 am

Re: Droid App?

Post by zten » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:31 am

Looking around, I can't find details about this. I have a few questions if anyone can answer.

1) One of the key items is they say to make sure your mobile provider allows VOIP calls over their data network. I'm on VZW. Does anyone know if they allow the the Ooma voice app on their EVDO (aka, 3G) network?

2) I see this has its own UI, so when I am at home and the phone is on my home WiFi, when I go to make a call if I use the phone's calling UI, it will make a call over the VZW voice network? If I make a call using the ooma UI it will make the call using voip on my wifi network?

3) What about incoming calls when I am at home? Will I have the option to either answer the call using the Oooma UI or the phone UI?

4) If VZW does allow VOIP calling on their EVDO network, does the answer to Q2 and Q3 above also apply to me when I am out and about, as long as I am in EVDO coverage?

Thanks!

murphy
Posts: 7260
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Droid App?

Post by murphy » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:42 am

The app does not support incoming calls.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

zten
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 9:56 am

Re: Droid App?

Post by zten » Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:19 am

oh. wow. that's kind of a big deal and explains alot of my own questions on how they make it compatible with the cellular provider. Does it mention that somewhere and I just missed it? They should make that clear in the android market as that is a show stopper for me, I'm guessing alot of other folks might be dissappointed to learn this after then spend their 10 bucks.

rollingrock
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:29 pm

Re: Droid App?

Post by rollingrock » Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:35 pm

down loaded the app for D2 cannot get it to work.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Droid App?

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:58 pm

rollingrock wrote:down loaded the app for D2 cannot get it to work.
I just replied to your thread. Seems Ooma hasn't changed the part about having to use main number for the app.
viewtopic.php?t=8387#p59015
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply