how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
loveitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:23 pm

how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by loveitch » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:33 pm

canceled my land line but im still getting verizon on my line. verizon wont help

User avatar
The Talker
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by The Talker » Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:14 pm

I too still have a dial tone after my port was completed. Verizon support told me it would take a few days to 'fall out of the system'. Of course the support staff had to try to up sell me while I was on the phone discussing other matters!
I am The Talker || **Lifetime Premier Service Subscriber** Use this SEARCH function folks!

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by murphy » Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:23 pm

loveitch wrote:canceled my land line but im still getting verizon on my line. verizon wont help
Go to the box on the outside wall of your house and unplug the phone connections that you will find there.
Put a warning tag on them saying that they are not to be reconnected.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

loveitch
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:23 pm

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by loveitch » Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:52 am

if i dissconect the green box outside will that dissconect my dsl?

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by murphy » Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:59 am

loveitch wrote:if i dissconect the green box outside will that dissconect my dsl?
Yes it will.
You need to do some rewiring in the house so that the DSL signal only goes to your DSL modem and not to any of the other jacks in the house.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
The Talker
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by The Talker » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:09 pm

I'm a wee bit confused now. I ported and my Verizon phone line has Verizon has been canceled. I still have a dial tone to my hard line phone. When picking up the handset, the nice lady voice says call can not be dialed from your calling area. Obviously dialing out is now impossible. I called Verizon from my Ooma Voip to verify canceling of my account with them and asked why I still have a dial tone to that line. That *not so nice and not so knowledgeable Lady* said I have to contact my new phone provider. I explained it's a Voip service and she didn't seem to know what I was talking about.Perhaps I don't know what I am talking about. I would think since my number is now through the Ooma Voip (DSL) the hard line dial tone would go away. Am I just just Koo-Coo and missing something here??

I really need those 8x10 glossy pictures with a paragraph on the back of each one describing of how to rewire that little box outside to get a ring on my other hard lines house phones.

My set up in this office is an extention wired line the phone company put in years ago. Using a splitter doesn't provide a ring to the other plugs. I'm so cornfused!
I am The Talker || **Lifetime Premier Service Subscriber** Use this SEARCH function folks!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by Groundhound » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:32 pm

The Talker wrote:My set up in this office is an extention wired line the phone company put in years ago. Using a splitter doesn't provide a ring to the other plugs. I'm so cornfused!
Perhaps the DSL is split outside and the jack in your office is only for DSL - if so that's a good thing IMO. Look where your telephone demarc box is and see if there is a second box mounted nearby (may be labled DSL) - if so then your DSL is probably split there.

If you open the cover of the demarc box you should see at least one short phone cord plugged into a modular jack for "line 1". Try and unplug it - if your DSL goes down plug it back in - if not leave it unplugged. If your DSL is not affected by disconnecting that plug, then open the wall plate in your office and see if there are un-connected wires coiled up inside. If so you may be able to put a duplex jack in to extend dialtone to your other jacks.

User avatar
The Talker
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by The Talker » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:42 pm

The office extension line was for a line two years ago. Line two been disconnected years ago also but the wiring remained. There *were* two phone jack receptacles in this office. I just removed the line two receptacle and connected a yellow and black wire from it to black and yellow posts on the first receptacle box in the series.

There is no extra box outside. I can take a picture if that helps. I'm big on the pictures!
I am The Talker || **Lifetime Premier Service Subscriber** Use this SEARCH function folks!

User avatar
The Talker
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Southern California

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by The Talker » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:50 pm

I am wondering why there is still that dial tone and message when Verizon has been canceled. Maybe it's canceled but not yet disconnected.
I am The Talker || **Lifetime Premier Service Subscriber** Use this SEARCH function folks!

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: how do i get rid of verizon express dial tone

Post by Groundhound » Tue Jan 26, 2010 1:56 pm

The Talker wrote:I am wondering why there is still that dial tone and message when Verizon has been canceled. Maybe it's canceled but not yet disconnected.
Some telcos keep dialtone on the line that will only allow calls to order new service, or sometimes 911.

Post Reply