IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
bc3tech
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:25 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Contact:

IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by bc3tech » Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:41 am

Appears Lounge doesn't like to change msgs in the Inbox on IE8.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by southsound » Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:45 am

bc3tech wrote:Appears Lounge doesn't like to change msgs in the Inbox on IE8.
I'm not sure what you mean by change msgs - can you explain what is happening? I use IE8 and haven't noticed anything but maybe I just haven't tried what you are describing.

Thanks!

Edit:
I might have answered my own question - I just clicked on a voice message in the inbox and got the "Internet Explorer has encountered an error and needs to close" message. I normally listen to emails from the hub so I hadn't noticed it until your post. I only had one message and it finally worked - does it do it every time or just sporatically?
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

bc3tech
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:25 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Contact:

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by bc3tech » Mon Aug 03, 2009 10:26 am

southsound wrote:
bc3tech wrote:Appears Lounge doesn't like to change msgs in the Inbox on IE8.
I'm not sure what you mean by change msgs - can you explain what is happening? I use IE8 and haven't noticed anything but maybe I just haven't tried what you are describing.

Thanks!

Edit:
I might have answered my own question - I just clicked on a voice message in the inbox and got the "Internet Explorer has encountered an error and needs to close" message. I normally listen to emails from the hub so I hadn't noticed it until your post. I only had one message and it finally worked - does it do it every time or just sporatically?
every time. And i'm running win7 so uninstalling ie8 is not an option. couple this w/ the Firefox bug and you've now got an unusable website.

I guess I haven't tried it in Chrome or Opera.....

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Aug 03, 2009 11:57 am

Using IE8 and had no problems at all. Listened to all my messages and deleted one.

Wayne

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by bw1 » Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:19 pm

bc3tech wrote: every time. And i'm running win7 so uninstalling ie8 is not an option. couple this w/ the Firefox bug and you've now got an unusable website.

I guess I haven't tried it in Chrome or Opera.....
The Firefox bug doesn't keep the lounge from being usable, just refresh and it fixes itself, at least for me.

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by WayneDsr » Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:32 pm

I did a test in Windows 7 and sure enough clicking on a voicemail crashes IE8. However, after the window recovers I can then listen to a voicemail. This doesn't happen every time and I'm not sure what's causing the issue. It has something to do with Windows 7 and IE8 and not Windows XP and IE8.

Wayne

bc3tech
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:25 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Contact:

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by bc3tech » Mon Aug 03, 2009 1:51 pm

bw1 wrote:
bc3tech wrote: every time. And i'm running win7 so uninstalling ie8 is not an option. couple this w/ the Firefox bug and you've now got an unusable website.

I guess I haven't tried it in Chrome or Opera.....
The Firefox bug doesn't keep the lounge from being usable, just refresh and it fixes itself, at least for me.
actually, works pretty well in Chrome :)

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by southsound » Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:09 pm

WayneDsr wrote:It has something to do with Windows 7 and IE8 and not Windows XP and IE8.

Wayne
When it broke and recovered in my system I was running XP Pro and IE8. Never liked Vista enough to change and I'm wating for brave souls like yourself to work the bugs out of Windows 7 before I buy it. But I hope you and all your friends do as soon as it's out because I still own some MS stock. :cool:
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

bc3tech
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 9:25 am
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Contact:

Re: IE8, switch msg in inbox, boom

Post by bc3tech » Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:14 pm

southsound wrote:
WayneDsr wrote:It has something to do with Windows 7 and IE8 and not Windows XP and IE8.

Wayne
When it broke and recovered in my system I was running XP Pro and IE8. Never liked Vista enough to change and I'm wating for brave souls like yourself to work the bugs out of Windows 7 before I buy it. But I hope you and all your friends do as soon as it's out because I still own some MS stock. :cool:
in case you haven't been paying attention it's gone to RTM (which i'm running) and is beating Vista in every benchmark i've read. And XP in nearly all of them as well. :)

I have bets going w/ many other people saying they'll "wait for SP2" that they don't end up waiting THAT long. They did Win7 right. the only thing they didn't do right is charge for it like it's anything but Vista-done-right. But, I'm an MSDN subscriber so don't really care ;)

Back to topic, Ooma needs to revisit their lounge programming on Firefox and Win7 IE8. i hope their "upcoming facelift" (eluded to in the Firefox thread) will take care of these issues so am not raising too much of a stink now, noting that using Chrome actually works quite well - I'll just have to install it on my office Win7 box as well.

Post Reply