Another ooma telo problem

Problems using My Ooma? Ideas on how we can make it better? You’ve come to the right place.
Post Reply
acdkm
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:22 pm

Another ooma telo problem

Post by acdkm » Wed May 25, 2011 2:41 pm

Ok so when I call someone using my Ooma telo, I cannot hear the phone ringing on my end. II tested this out by calling my cell phones ringtone works just fine. But I cant hear the ringing on my ooma connected phone so I cant tell whether or not the person is recieving a call!

Hope this makes sense. Please help!
The Stamafia

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Another ooma telo problem

Post by thunderbird » Wed May 25, 2011 3:27 pm

acdkm wrote:Ok so when I call someone using my Ooma telo, I cannot hear the phone ringing on my end. II tested this out by calling my cell phones ringtone works just fine. But I cant hear the ringing on my ooma connected phone so I cant tell whether or not the person is recieving a call!

Hope this makes sense. Please help!
Try testing/calling with only a corded phone connected to the Ooma Telo Phone port.

just4fn
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: The State of Washington

Re: Another ooma telo problem

Post by just4fn » Wed May 25, 2011 3:59 pm

I had this problem only when calling another ooma phone system. I put my Hub after the router and that fixed it. I don't know if this helps but worth a try
Ooma Telo, Hub.
1958 was a very good year!
No cell phone , no land line- just Ooma
all my eggs in one Ooma basket
I lied- my wife has a cell, but not me!! I like my privacy and not being attached to a phone.

acdkm
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:22 pm

Re: Another ooma telo problem

Post by acdkm » Sat May 28, 2011 12:14 pm

just4fn wrote:I had this problem only when calling another ooma phone system. I put my Hub after the router and that fixed it. I don't know if this helps but worth a try
What do you mean "put my hub after the router"? Please explain :)
The Stamafia

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Another ooma telo problem

Post by thunderbird » Sat May 28, 2011 12:43 pm

acdkm wrote:
just4fn wrote:I had this problem only when calling another ooma phone system. I put my Hub after the router and that fixed it. I don't know if this helps but worth a try
What do you mean "put my hub after the router"? Please explain :)
He means connect your Ooma Device to one of you router LAN ports.

acdkm
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 6:22 pm

Re: Another ooma telo problem

Post by acdkm » Sat May 28, 2011 2:02 pm

I have. Also, I cannot access setup.ooma.com or the 172 address....

This is getting very fustrating. Especially when I'm not hearing incoming phone calls!! The person has to usually call 2-3 times before I can hear my phone ringing!!!
The Stamafia

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Another ooma telo problem

Post by thunderbird » Sat May 28, 2011 2:16 pm

acdkm wrote:I have. Also, I cannot access setup.ooma.com or the 172 address....

This is getting very fustrating. Especially when I'm not hearing incoming phone calls!! The person has to usually call 2-3 times before I can hear my phone ringing!!!
To help stabilize your Ooma Internet connection:
If your Ooma device is connected Modem-Ooma-Router, access your Ooma Setup pages by typing http://172.27.35.1 in your computer browser window. The Ooma Setup pages open. Click on Internet, go down to INTERNET Port MAC Address: and change setting from Automatic to Use Built In. Click on Update device. Reboot your Modem, when the Modem is done booting reboot your Ooma device.

If your connection is Modem-Router-Ooma, temporarily connect a network cable from your Ooma device home port, to the wired LAN port of a computer. Temporarily turn off Wi-Fi in the computer, if turned on. Reboot the computer. Access your Ooma Setup pages by typing http://172.27.35.1 in your computer browser window. The Ooma Setup pages open. Click on Internet, go down to INTERNET Port MAC Address: and change setting from Automatic to Use Built In. Click on Update device. Reboot your Modem, when the Modem is done booting reboot your Router, when the Router is done booting, reboot your Ooma device.

Note: Reboot means remove power, then plug power back in for the device in the order listed above.

If you still can't access Ooma Setup, use a different browser, like Firefox.
If you still can't access Ooma Setup, temporarily turn off your computer's firewall security.
If you still can't access Ooma Setup, post what your Operating system is. You may have a wrong static IP address configured in your computer wired LAN Internet connection. If you don't know how to return the setting to Automatic, after posting your computer operating system, I can tell you if it's a window operating system.

The next thing to do is reserve a static IP address in your router for your Ooma Telo. Than Place the Ooma Telo static IP address in your router's DMZ.

Post Reply