Multiple handsets

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
User avatar
number9
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Multiple handsets

Post by number9 » Mon Feb 02, 2009 8:45 am

I'm considering buying a new DECT phone with 2 satellite handsets. After hooking the main phone base up to the Ooma hub, will I then be able to use the other 2 handsets, or will each handset have to be connected to a scout?
I am not going to have an additional phone number, or second line,etc,...

Thank you!
Plays PRS guitars

atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Re: Multiple handsets

Post by atici » Mon Feb 02, 2009 9:39 am

It will work. Many ooma users use this configuration already (including me). Just connect the base to ooma. No need for scouts.

The only thing scout is useful for is the features accessible on the ooma panel (instant second line, send to voicemail etc). You can get a second line with only the hub however since you have one phone hooked up (as opposed to another one to the scout) you can only hear one line at a time or do a three way calling.

Also do a search on these forums for recommended DECT phones. Panasonic DECT phones work really well. I use my ooma with a Panasonic KX-TG8232B.

User avatar
number9
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:04 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Multiple handsets

Post by number9 » Mon Feb 02, 2009 10:04 am

THANK YOU atici!!!!
Plays PRS guitars

Post Reply