Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
jcarcopo
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:55 am

Re: Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Post by jcarcopo » Fri Dec 25, 2009 9:48 am

Davesworld wrote:Also make sure your Modem Port Mac Address is set to use built in.
I went ahead and set the modem port mac address to built-in.

I reserved this mac address for 192.168.1.192 in my Apple Time Capsule. Now I can access my Ooma from 192.168.1.192 as it will always be assigned 192.168.1.192 by my router and nothing else can inadvertently change this, not even me!

Thanks for the help Dave!

hedstrom
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 8:02 am

Re: Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Post by hedstrom » Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:05 am

Just to echo the problem reported accessing the setup.ooma.com page. From my PC connected to the Home port, I could only get the left hand menu portion of the setup page to load. It didn't matter whether I used Firefox or IE. However, my MAC is able to get the entire page. Also, a PC on my LAN was able to access the entire setup page by going to the 192.168.1.xxx address, where xxx is the IP assigned to the ooma by our router (I am setup as: modem->router->ooma).

Can anyone tell me how you do a factory reset of the Ooma hub?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Post by bw1 » Sat Dec 26, 2009 9:53 am

hedstrom wrote: Can anyone tell me how you do a factory reset of the Ooma hub?
Hold down the Ooma (blue) tab while plugging it in.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Post by Groundhound » Sat Dec 26, 2009 9:58 am

bw1 wrote:
hedstrom wrote: Can anyone tell me how you do a factory reset of the Ooma hub?
Hold down the Ooma (blue) tab while plugging it in.
I think this person has a Telo, and was confused about the name. See this thread: http://www.ooma.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=38650#p38650

amoney
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:43 pm

Re: Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Post by amoney » Sat Jan 09, 2010 7:29 am

Davesworld wrote:You need to use the address your router assigns to it, you only use setup.ooma.com if you use the home port to access the device.

Also, you port forward exactly as you see in Wayne's attached picture. The internet port needs no forwarding.

Bump, and request for MODS to create a sticky thread for creating the port forwarding rule.
Comcast > Telo > WRT54G

Obfuscator
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Post by Obfuscator » Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:27 am

Interestingly, without setting up a DMZ or port forwarding, mine is working fine. I can access the setup page. This is my setup.


Cable->Cable Modem-> Router->24port GB switch->8port GB switch-> Ooma
I have both network ports of my Ooma connected to by 8 port GB switch

Now, I don't quite understand all of the network lingo being slung around this forum. Can someone explain why this works and if I have a security problem?
Thanks!

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Telo Firmware 1.32342 and one quirk (solved, not a quirk)

Post by nn5i » Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:55 pm

It works because, by connecting the HOME NETWORK port to your network, you have provided a path by which a PC on your network can get to 172.27.35.1 which is available only on the HOME port. I'm going to try that -- my Telo is connected to a switch in my network too.

I don't see any particular security exposure, since everything is behind your router.

Update -- it didn't work for me. Come to think, it also places the Telo's DHCP server in my network, which could cause a conflict. I'm going to undo it.

Post Reply