Contacts Feature Request

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
User avatar
Mike-o-Matic
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:45 pm

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by Mike-o-Matic » Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:30 am

Just a reminder to people who feel this was released "half baked"... that's why it's marked a Beta. It'll improve over time, no question.

Keep the feedback rolling in, I'm sure the developers will take a lot of it to heart. I'm also sure that it wouldn't hurt to be polite when asking :D
Customer Since: November 2009.
Number Port: ordered 12/14/09; completed 01/07/10.
Hardware: one Hub, one Scout, one Telo.
Service Level: Annual Premier.

mikemac
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:57 am
Location: ooma Hub

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by mikemac » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:17 am

Bobby or Dennis - any ETA on when the personalized Contacts will be passed to the phone's Caller ID (instead of Wireless Caller)?

Please support the ooma hub when implementing this feature. I would even go as far as to not query the CNAM database for calls in the contact list - that should save ooma some large bills - that's one good reason to implement this feature as soon as possible.

Thanks!

User avatar
Mike-o-Matic
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:45 pm

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by Mike-o-Matic » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:24 am

mikemac wrote:I would even go as far as to not query the CNAM database for calls in the contact list - that should save ooma some large bills - that's one good reason to implement this feature as soon as possible. Thanks!
+1 to that! Anything that keeps ooma's costs low and contributes to the bottom line, is a good thing in my book.
Customer Since: November 2009.
Number Port: ordered 12/14/09; completed 01/07/10.
Hardware: one Hub, one Scout, one Telo.
Service Level: Annual Premier.

KenAF
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 1:47 pm

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by KenAF » Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:08 pm

mikemac wrote:Please support the ooma hub when implementing this feature. I would even go as far as to not query the CNAM database for calls in the contact list - that should save ooma some large bills - that's one good reason to implement this feature as soon as possible.
+2

I receive more than 2/3 of my calls from members on the contact list, and I suspect the same is true of many subscribers. That would really add up in savings for Ooma, especially if they encouraged/promoted use of the feature.

fmladineo
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:56 am

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by fmladineo » Fri Jan 22, 2010 2:08 pm

Who on earth came up with the Contacts feature? You've created an export function (to CSV). Where's the import function from CSV? Surely, this isn't rocket science. Won't even bother using until an import feature is available. I'd like to be able to sync my iPhone contact to my computer, Gmail, and Ooma device.

mikemac
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 10:57 am
Location: ooma Hub

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by mikemac » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:55 am

KenAF wrote:
mikemac wrote:Please support the ooma hub when implementing this feature. I would even go as far as to not query the CNAM database for calls in the contact list - that should save ooma some large bills - that's one good reason to implement this feature as soon as possible.
+2

I receive more than 2/3 of my calls from members on the contact list, and I suspect the same is true of many subscribers. That would really add up in savings for Ooma, especially if they encouraged/promoted use of the feature.

Any update from the ooma staff when this feature will be implemented (caller id shows name in the contacts list instead of the CNAM database)?

Kelly
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by Kelly » Thu May 06, 2010 5:50 pm

I've been waiting for the contacts from my.ooma.com to appear on my telo handset. They did about a week or two ago. I then imported all the contacts from my cell phone via a csv format to my.ooma.com. All 58 imported fine online but my telo handset can only see 25 of them. Is there a limit to the number of phone numbers the telo handset has memory to store or does it access them online and this is just a bug? The telo handset doesn't recognize any groups the contacts are stored in and the only way I can access a number on the handset is to scroll down through them rather than entering the letters like on a cell phone. Are these 2 items bugs also or just unimplemented features?

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by bw1 » Thu May 06, 2010 6:00 pm

Kelly wrote:I've been waiting for the contacts from my.ooma.com to appear on my telo handset. They did about a week or two ago. I then imported all the contacts from my cell phone via a csv format to my.ooma.com. All 58 imported fine online but my telo handset can only see 25 of them. Is there a limit to the number of phone numbers the telo handset has memory to store or does it access them online and this is just a bug? The telo handset doesn't recognize any groups the contacts are stored in and the only way I can access a number on the handset is to scroll down through them rather than entering the letters like on a cell phone. Are these 2 items bugs also or just unimplemented features?
I have more than 25 contacts in my handsets. Did your re-sync? Try selecting Menu -> Service Settings -> Sync config.

You should be able to press the numbers on the handset to start a search within your contacts after you select the right arrow on the direction pad on the handset to get into the handset's phone book. For example, keying 47 should display contacts beginning with the letters G, H or I, then P, Q, R or S and contacts with the number 47 in one of the phone numbers for the contact. Or something like that. :)

Kelly
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 5:32 pm

Re: Contacts Feature Request

Post by Kelly » Thu May 06, 2010 6:08 pm

Thanks! It took a few minutes after the sync for the rest of the numbers to show. I can access the numbers directly now that they are there to access. I really appreciate the quick response.

Post Reply