Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
#1809 by xlamierina
Wed Jan 07, 2009 9:13 pm
I just found out that ooma has a new system announced (Telo) with some cool features. I'm new to Ooma and actually just purchased a second Ooma system for my father as a gift. Do you know if it will be possible for an existing Ooma user to upgrade their hardware to the new telo system without paying the full retail price?

Thanks,
Biren
#1823 by donwob
Thu Jan 08, 2009 6:27 pm
What is about the tech industry that the consumers demand upgrades at a reduced price. AT&T makes you wait two years before you upgrade at the cost, or you pay an arm and a leg.

You don't see me bugging Toyota for the new version of there Camry just because they came out with a new model. Sony has never told me I get a discount on their latest TV.

Tech companies should not have to do it, Ooma should not have to do it.

I applaud Ooma for their product development and advances, and if they now have a better offering with a new platform, that requires me to purchase it again. I think it is fair to pay the retail price.

I want Ooma to continue to be in business and paying for new products, new relevant features is a way for Ooma. For Ooma to offset the new Telo, at the expense of not generating any new customers, or new revenue ($99 per year Premier - for $99 with the Telo) does not make much sense.

Ooma - as a happy customer, you won't piss me off by not giving me a discount.
#1834 by xlamierina
Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:19 am
Well I'm not expecting them to, but no harm in asking. I'm still in my 30 day return window. Anyway I don't think the request is unreasonable because I won't be setting up a new line of service. If a new user buys it, they'll need a new number and account and will increase the demand on their system by another user. If an existing user upgrades, that is not the case.