Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
#26146 by raincity
Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:03 am
I've been using Ooma for about 3 months and have been generally very pleased with the service, but after finding that Ooma blocks Touchtones (DTMF) I've maintained my second line with a different service so I can access my existing answering machine.

Since Ooma Basis will no longer include voicemail, will Ooma be passing Touchtones so basic users can remotely access their answering machines? If so, will Ooma Premier also pass Touchtones? If so, I'll sign up for Premier today.
#26147 by niknak
Wed Oct 14, 2009 8:06 am
it's not a matter of the service level, it is a hardware issue
the hubs will never be able to pass DTMF
The Telo was supposed to be able to do so, but I don't think it is implemented yet
#26157 by MikeekiM
Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:00 am
raincity wrote:I've been using Ooma for about 3 months and have been generally very pleased with the service, but after finding that Ooma blocks Touchtones (DTMF) I've maintained my second line with a different service so I can access my existing answering machine.

Since Ooma Basis will no longer include voicemail, will Ooma be passing Touchtones so basic users can remotely access their answering machines? If so, will Ooma Premier also pass Touchtones? If so, I'll sign up for Premier today.

As noted, the incoming DTMF is a hardware issue... But something confused me a bit...

If you are willing to pay for premier to get touchtones so that you can access your existing answering machine, why would you not consider premier to actually get the enhanced voicemail? I used to have an answering machine, and while it was great for call screening, etc...it couldn't take a message when I was on the phone... and my telco VM could...