Automatic QoS setting

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
atici
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 8:22 am

Automatic QoS setting

Post by atici » Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:53 am

Could you implement a default "automatic" QoS setting which is factory default but could be disabled?

The box could calculate the downstream/upstream every day to ooma servers and calculate an average over 10 days etc.

Some posts here recommend lowering the actual upload speed before entering into the QoS page because it is claimed then the bandwidth algorithm does a better job. This sounds a bit silly to me? Shouldn't that built into the algorithm itself?

This is the only technical step in setting up an ooma. Otherwise it would simply work out of the box.

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: Automatic QoS setting

Post by Bobby B » Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:15 am

This is a great idea - you're right, it isn't very user-friendly to run a speed test and set the QoS settings manually.

The challenge with putting this in place is bandwidth testing can be very load intensive. Typically bandwidth testers work by downloading a 2-5+ MB file and measuring the time it takes to download the file.
Bobby B

Post Reply