What firmware for router?

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by WayneDsr » Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:53 pm

You are a brave man. Testing ooma with your wife AND your mother in law at the same time! That situation could have gone quite bad.

Glad it didn't and all worked out well! :-)

Wayne

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by scottlindner » Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:59 pm

WayneDsr wrote:You are a brave man. Testing ooma with your wife AND your mother in law at the same time! That situation could have gone quite bad.

Glad it didn't and all worked out well! :-)

Wayne
I didn't know the "test" had begun. I told her I made some changes and to pay attention to quality. It didn't occur to me she had hopped on the phone as soon as I got Tomato configured.

She did say there was one little hiccup in the middle of the call. Without hearing it myself I can't say if it was related or not. It was a very long call, and it didn't even happen when I was doing stress tests. Who knows. We'll just have to keep an eye on it.

Scott

User avatar
StevenJohn
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 11:40 pm
Location: East Tennessee

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by StevenJohn » Sat Jun 06, 2009 11:49 pm

Thanks Scott for the tips on the router. In the next few days I may give
it a try.

SJ

User avatar
scottlindner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:47 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by scottlindner » Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:34 am

One thing to note. Tomato doesn't support many routers. I suspect it will support a lot more than are documented, but that would be at your own risk (it already is, so I don't see a difference).

Scott

User avatar
bw1
Posts: 1781
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 9:06 am
Location: MI

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by bw1 » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:27 am

Cisco is releasing a new router that may soon support Tomato:

http://practical-tech.com/operating-sys ... ia-server/

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:31 am

Wow, thanks for the link. I want one!

Wayne

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by Aveamantium » Wed Jun 24, 2009 6:52 am

Been using Tomato on my WRT54GL since version 0.03... Been great since day one! Has always played well with my previous provider and my Linksys PAP2T and now the ooma. Jon has done a wonderful job with this firmware.
Go AVS!

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Jun 24, 2009 7:03 am

Yes, using Tomato here too.

Wayne

User avatar
StevenJohn
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 11:40 pm
Location: East Tennessee

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by StevenJohn » Wed Jun 24, 2009 9:23 am

Me too!

I did have to remove the bulk traffic line so the ooma ports would work at highest QoS.

Tomato works great on Linksys WRT54G V3.

sj

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: What firmware for router?

Post by Aveamantium » Wed Jun 24, 2009 9:26 am

StevenJohn wrote:Me too!

I did have to remove the bulk traffic line so the ooma ports would work at highest QoS.

Tomato works great on Linksys WRT54G V3.

sj
Don't know if you saw my post in the other thread, but try moving the ooma rules to the top in the Classifications as Tomato processes rules from top to bottom. The first rule that is satisfied is how it is classified...
Go AVS!

Post Reply