Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
#10731 by GotPhil
Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:53 pm
Dear Ooma,

I have been using Ooma for a few months now and have moved both my personal and business phone numbers over to Ooma. I also subscribed to the Premier service after falling for it during the free evaluation.

One of my favorite features is the ability to block out anonymous callers, telemarketers and robodialers. However it seems one telemarketing company has found a way to bypass the anonymous call block feature by somehow having their caller ID show up as blank or null. When I receive a call from them the Phone Number field in my call log shows up as blank, if they leave a voicemail the voicemail e-mail says its from "0000000000" however I can't setup a blacklist entry with no phone number or "0000000000" as the phone number.

This is very annoying because I have no way to block calls from these guys. In my opinion, if the caller ID phone number is blank or all zeroes then it should fall into the "anonymous" category and be blocked if I have anonymous call blocking enabled.

Please respond and let me know your thoughts on this, if more telemarketers pick up this tactic it's going to get really annoying really fast.

Thank you,

Phil
#10744 by sokha
Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:17 am
this feature is available in Premiere service.
you have to log-in to your account and set it up if you have Premiere service.
not sure if it's available in BASIC service.
located in PREFERENCES > PRIVACY

usually, telemarketer uses VoIP to call which shows up as "blank" on CID.
however, if the caller shows as "000000" or some other characters, then, the BLOCKER won't work since it's not exactly BLANK data.
if CID displays 000000, probably it's garbled CID transmission.

because this is all control by software, imagination is the limit.
Ooma should implement "BUDDY LIST".
only people on BUDDY LIST can call thru.