Blacklist invalid numbers

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
Post Reply
holmes4
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by holmes4 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:23 am

The "Card Services" spammers frequently use bogus and invalid numbers in their caller ID. For example, I just got a call from an 899-000-xxxx number. Both the area code and exchange are invalid. I would like to suggest that Ooma automatically blacklist such numbers (or at least allow us the option to do so.)
Steve

murphy
Posts: 7166
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by murphy » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:33 am

The 899 area code is in Mexico. It is not invalid.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

holmes4
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by holmes4 » Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:22 am

899 is not an assigned area code in the North American Numbering Plan. Mexico is not part of that - though I don't find 899 assigned as a city or area code in Mexico either. I would not expect Ooma to filter out numbers from outside the NANP. According to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_No ... 2.80.93899 , 899 is reserved for future expansion of the NANP.

But even so, 000 is invalid as an exchange.
Steve

Telo_BK
Posts: 187
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 11:10 pm

Re: Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by Telo_BK » Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:28 am

There is no valid local (7-digit) number that begins with 0 or 1. When you dial 0 for the first (or only) digit, it's for the operator, anything after that is ignored. Dialing 1 tells the switch that it's a long distance call, and 10 digits follow (can also be used for international with different quantities of digits afterward). I used to design lots of telecom equipment (back when a switch really was a switch). In order to maintain compatibility with newer systems, this scheme is still in place.

So, regardless of the area code, if the second set of three digits begins with 0 or 1, it's invalid from the telco's standpoint and cannot be routed to a subscriber.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by lbmofo » Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:55 am

Blacklist by wildcard is working now:
/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15436#p108297

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Amer ... ering_Plan
You can block invalid number by specifying 0* and 1* in your blacklist.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

holmes4
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by holmes4 » Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:49 pm

I'm not sure their implementation will do this - see my reply in the other thread.
Steve

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by lbmofo » Mon Apr 01, 2013 6:19 pm

Area codes starting with 0 or 1 are invalid numbers so 0* and 1* will block most invalid numbers.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

holmes4
Posts: 534
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 3:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Blacklist invalid numbers

Post by holmes4 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 6:52 am

It's exchanges starting with 0 or 1 that Ooma's system still can't deal with. But this gets back to my original request - Ooma should allow me to automatically block country code 1 calls where the area code or exchange is invalid.
Steve

Post Reply