Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Something on your mind? Want to give us feedback on something in particular or everything in general? Tell us how we are doing!
FreePhone
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:25 pm

Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by FreePhone » Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:20 pm

I have an Ooma Core system, so I have no fees attached to the box and have been very satisfied with this device. I will admit that at first I had a wiring setup situation that needed to be addressed, because of where my cable modem and wireless router are located. So my Ooma could not be located where I usually had my house phone's wireless handset base station.

Now I see that the Telo has a wireless adapter accessory and bluetooth adapter, both of which would free up the placement of an Ooma in my home. I'm wondering if Ooma allows those with Fee free Core systems to upgrade to a Telo and keep their contract without fees. I would spend the money to purchase a Telo if this was possible, but it's not worth it to me if I have to pay the fee each month. Does anyone know?

just4fn
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: The State of Washington

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by just4fn » Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:10 pm

If you purchase a Telo you would have to pay the taxes. You don't have any contract with the hub but you are Grandfathered in for no taxes.
Ooma Telo, Hub.
1958 was a very good year!
No cell phone , no land line- just Ooma
all my eggs in one Ooma basket
I lied- my wife has a cell, but not me!! I like my privacy and not being attached to a phone.

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by roadshow » Sat Nov 05, 2011 2:16 am

If you call OOMA directly and purchase the upgrade to Telo, you will maintain your Core status. No Taxes. That's the way I understand it.

FreePhone
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:25 pm

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by FreePhone » Sat Nov 05, 2011 2:10 pm

just4fn wrote:If you purchase a Telo you would have to pay the taxes. You don't have any contract with the hub but you are Grandfathered in for no taxes.
I'm confused. First you say I have to pay taxes with a Telo, but then you say I am grandfathered in for no taxes. Which is it?

From what I understand, if my 1st gen Ooma were to fail (in or outside of a warranty), then Ooma would sell me a Telo and I could keep my service without paying fees/taxes. So it got me wondering if I were to pay for an upgrade to a Telo without my 1st gen Ooma failing, could I still keep my current fee/tax free service. But it sounds like I can.

User avatar
roadshow
Posts: 204
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 12:09 pm
Location: Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by roadshow » Sat Nov 05, 2011 3:36 pm

Yes FreePhone. Unless something has changed recently, you are grandfathered for no taxes. The only caveat is that you have to buy the upgrade directly through OOMA's upgrade procedure. Don't buy one from a retailer. If this has changed, someone please correct me.

just4fn
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:46 pm
Location: The State of Washington

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by just4fn » Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:30 pm

If that's true I stand corrected. I thought that if you bought the Telo then you had to pay the taxes even if you had the hub. Call Ooma and post their answer. Sorry if I was wrong.
Ooma Telo, Hub.
1958 was a very good year!
No cell phone , no land line- just Ooma
all my eggs in one Ooma basket
I lied- my wife has a cell, but not me!! I like my privacy and not being attached to a phone.

FreePhone
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 4:25 pm

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by FreePhone » Sat Nov 05, 2011 7:00 pm

I don't have the Hub, I have the Core system. With the Hub alone you have to pay the taxes. With the Core you didn't.

But thanks for the responses. I will have to call Ooma and find out.

shaun
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:57 am

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by shaun » Sat Aug 04, 2012 10:03 am

As an Ooma Core customer since 2010, this forum post plus the still active blog post at:
http://www.ooma.com/blog/how-oomas-term ... customers/

Convinced me to purchase a Telo... I got my Telo yesterday, went to the activation page - which informed me that I needed to call, so I did. The first agent told me that my Core account could not be transferred to a Telo, and that I would need to activate with a new phone number, and then pay a number porting fee to move my number and then start paying monthly recovery fees. I asked for a manager, and was hung up on. :x

I called back, and the new agent gave me the same story. I directed him to the blog post, and he sighed and said "oh, that post is old". I responded saying that it has no date, and it is still actively linked to from http://www.ooma.com/blog/ (2nd to last item under the "Pages" heading on the upper right). He agreed to "look in to it for me" and call me back within an hour. :?

I'll update everyone when I hear back...

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by lbmofo » Sat Aug 04, 2012 12:42 pm

shaun, you got this backwards, you don't buy the device and then do the upgrade; you have to talk to Ooma first (higher level tech, 3rd and above) about your options.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

shaun
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:57 am

Re: Telo Hardware Upgrade Possible without Fees?

Post by shaun » Sat Aug 04, 2012 1:55 pm

Care to give me any advice on getting to a "higher level tech, 3rd and above"? The guy that told me he would call back in an hour sent me an email after 2 hours saying they discontinued the upgrade option in April 2010 - which I know is wrong because the blog post I previously linked to was posted after that...

I bought my new Telo from Amazon, so returning it is pretty easy.

Locked