Blinking line# with Telo Handset

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
wpwood3
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Blinking line# with Telo Handset

Post by wpwood3 » Mon Aug 02, 2010 1:28 pm

I have a Telo Handset and 3 Panasonic cordless phones. The base for the Panny phones is connected to the phone port on the Telo.

I'm not sure if this is "normal" or not...
I just noticed that the line number on the Telo used by the Telo Handset is always red and blinking when the Telo Handset is off hook. The line number used by any of the Panny handsets is always red and solid when one of the Panny's is off hook.

Is that the way it is supposed to work? Is there some significance to the line number blinking when the Telo Handset is in use?

murphy
Posts: 7207
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Blinking line# with Telo Handset

Post by murphy » Mon Aug 02, 2010 1:32 pm

That is the way it works. The blinking line number indicates that the line is in use by a handset.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: Blinking line# with Telo Handset

Post by ajw522 » Mon Aug 02, 2010 1:49 pm

It basically means that the line is being used by a phone other than the one plugged into the PHONE port on the Telo or Hub. So for Telo, it means that a handset is in use. For Hub, it means that a Scout is in use.
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
wpwood3
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Re: Blinking line# with Telo Handset

Post by wpwood3 » Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:04 pm

Thanks guys!

I figured that but, had to ask. This is our first week using Ooma as our only home phone system so I am trying to be alert to how the system works and what is normal vs abnormal. So far, all of the calls in and out have been great.

I do think that people on the other end hear me better when I am using the Panasonic handsets instead of the Telo Handset. It seems that they ask me to repeat myself on the Telo Handset but, this rarely happens on the Panasonics. However, we haven't been using the Telo very long so we need more time with it to say for sure.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Blinking line# with Telo Handset

Post by lbmofo » Mon Aug 02, 2010 2:07 pm

Leave yourself voicemails at a landline service (such as your work) to do exhaustive studies on quality :)
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply