Call waiting with Land line only configuration

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
pramodanchu
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:44 pm

Call waiting with Land line only configuration

Post by pramodanchu » Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:49 pm

Folks,

I am having trouble with call waiting with land line only configuration. I hear an incoming call when I am on the line, when I try to pick it up using flash it does not switch. Also tried selecting line #2 on the hub, no joy. I have not subscribed to the premier service.

I have call waiting and caller id from ATT, not sure if I should drop that?

P

Update

Spoke to an ooma rep earlier, said he had to do some setting magic on their side to my account, still waiting.

hank0997
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:24 pm

Re: Call waiting with Land line only configuration

Post by hank0997 » Thu Jan 08, 2009 8:25 pm

I am having the same trouble on my end with my ooma/landline combo. I hear the beep and then can't click over.

User avatar
kagy
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:31 am
Location: Gig Harbor, WA

Re: Call waiting with Land line only configuration

Post by kagy » Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:03 pm

I was going to post a new topic, but it fits in here, so...

I have the premier service, but am waiting on my number to be ported over. In the mean time I'm using my land-line as a back-up.

When the phone hooked to the Ooma hub is in use, and a second call comes in, everything works as advertised - that is, all phones ring and the one in use will 'beep,' letting the user know that a call is waiting. Picking up the phone connected to the Ooma scout will automatically answer line 2.

But - when the phone(s) connected to the Ooma scout is in use and a caller tries to call us, he will get a busy signal and there will be no indication in the house that someone tried to call. (I know this because the caller in question knows of my phone situation and called back, explaining it to me.)

I suspect that this might clear up after I'm ported over to Ooma and I drop my land line. Just wondering if anyone has had a similar experience?
Si vis Pacem, Para bellum

Post Reply