Area Code 252

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
rrgone
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:58 am

Area Code 252

Post by rrgone » Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:19 pm

I have been trying to call a number in area code 252 with no success. I pick up the phone and get a normal Ooma dial tone, dial the number and it immediately rings busy. I have called local numbers (area code 520) and people in area code 360 with no problems. I have also called the number in area code 252 on my land line phone with no problems. Any ideas on what the problem is?

Thanks!

User avatar
Aveamantium
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:28 pm
Location: Loveland, Colorado

Re: Area Code 252

Post by Aveamantium » Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:21 pm

rrgone wrote:I have been trying to call a number in area code 252 with no success. I pick up the phone and get a normal Ooma dial tone, dial the number and it immediately rings busy. I have called local numbers (area code 520) and people in area code 360 with no problems. I have also called the number in area code 252 on my land line phone with no problems. Any ideas on what the problem is?

Thanks!
Probably a routing problem... Call support with the time and the number that you tried to call and they should take care of it.
Go AVS!

rrgone
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:58 am

Re: Area Code 252

Post by rrgone » Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:36 pm

Alright, I called and reported it. The tech said she would attempt to fix the problem but she was having probs with her system(?). She promised to call me back on my land line number...

The call quality to tech support was not great. So far it has been very good on other calls.

rrgone
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:58 am

Re: Area Code 252

Post by rrgone » Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:24 pm

Well tech support did call me back on the Ooma phone. Didn't know anything about what was causing this issue but said she would turn it over to a level 2 or 3 engineer. I still cannot call my in-laws in area code 252...

I am waiting to get my landline number ported over to Ooma. We were trying it out for about 6 weeks or so with absolutly no issues before today. Hope this doesn't turn out to be recurring as my wife needs solid phone service for her home business. Has this come up much with Ooma phone service?

Thanks!

redial#
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 7:08 am

Re: Area Code 252

Post by redial# » Thu Aug 20, 2009 6:33 am

rrgone wrote:I still cannot call my in-laws in area code ...
Lucky bastard, i wish i had that problem. :lol:

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Area Code 252

Post by WayneDsr » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:25 am

:-) !

Wayne

rrgone
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:58 am

Re: Area Code 252

Post by rrgone » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:34 am

redial# wrote:
rrgone wrote:I still cannot call my in-laws in area code ...
Lucky bastard, i wish i had that problem. :lol:

Good one! lol.

Well I still cannot call any number in area code 252 this morning. I looked up a couple of businesses and even the city of Roanoke Rapids NC and tried their Convention and Visitors Bureau. Exact same issue every time - as soon as I finish dialing It goes to busy signal.

Could someone else try a number in Roanoke Rapids NC for me? I'm wondering if it is some problem from here (Tucson, AZ) or a general problem with that area code. I'm not sure if I should publish a number here or not, but if you go to roanokerapidsnc.com you can fine lots of city admin numbers. Appreciate some feedback.

Thanks!

dtalwar
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:27 pm
Location: Gold River, CA

Re: Area Code 252

Post by dtalwar » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:37 am

Tried one of the (252) numbers from Sacramento, CA --- same issue, get a busy tone.

niknak
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 7:53 pm
Location: Staten Island, NY

Re: Area Code 252

Post by niknak » Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:41 am

You are right, I am in NY City and I just tried 252-533-xxxx, and 252-535-xxxx and got busy signals. Ooma CS needs to resolve this switching issue

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Area Code 252

Post by southsound » Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:41 am

Same from western Washington - from 360-545-xxxx. I called the IT department and also their fax number. Both reported busy.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

Post Reply