dialing long distance

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
bobkoury
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 6:04 pm

dialing long distance

Post by bobkoury » Sat May 03, 2008 6:10 pm

In our area a neighboring city can be dialed locally over a leased phone simply by dialing the number without the area code -- simply dial as a purely local number. If this is done a toll charge of $0.25 a minute is billed. I want to be sure ooma does not do this. So do I need to dial the adjacent city as a long distance number (1, area code, number), or is ooma smart enough to know to use the internet rather than the leased line if this per minute toll charge number is dialed in local dial mode?

User avatar
jwrandall
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 10:44 am
Location: Downeast Maine

Re: dialing long distance

Post by jwrandall » Mon May 05, 2008 6:11 am

I have local-only on my landline. Before ooma (I had Packet8) if I dialed out I got a recording saying I don't have long distance service and the called didn't go through.
After I got ooma I wondered the same as the OP. I accidently called a town that would have had a long distance regional charge and it went through using ooma without dialing 1 and area code, just the 7 numbers.
Glad to see it works this way.
I have a fever...and the only prescription is...more cowbell.

User avatar
Dennis P
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1858
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:09 am
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: dialing long distance

Post by Dennis P » Tue May 06, 2008 4:09 pm

You got it exactly right. The ooma box can differentiate between (a) free local calls (b) local toll calls (even if it is in the same area code) and (c) long-distance toll calls. Only free calls will be sent out your landline. All toll calls, local or long-distance, goes through our network.

jsmith6
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:30 am

Re: dialing long distance

Post by jsmith6 » Tue May 13, 2008 11:39 am

How does ooma know what area code I am in and what is a local call? What if I am overseas?

User avatar
Bobby B
Ooma Moderator
Posts: 1457
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:41 pm
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Contact:

Re: dialing long distance

Post by Bobby B » Tue May 13, 2008 1:36 pm

Hi jsmith6, ooma determines your local calling area from the phone number(s) assigned to your ooma System. If you take your ooma Hub overseas, you take your phone number and local calling area with you!
jsmith6 wrote:How does ooma know what area code I am in and what is a local call? What if I am overseas?
Bobby B

Post Reply