Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
#95680 by Seir
Tue May 08, 2012 12:31 pm
direct to voice mail?

I'm new to the whole Ooma thing (about a month or so now). Loving the quality but have seen some quirks. I've got a Premier membership and have two phone numbers. The first line was ported from CenturyLink and we are trying to fix the caller ID now (seems to take a very long time to do). The second line remains the temporary number chosen from the nearby area; eventually we will port our other CenturyLink number over to it.

Now, I've played around with all of the privacy and blacklist settings to try and stop this but when I dial my main number from my second number I go straight to voice mail. Is this normal?

I've also noticed that the caller ID on the second line comes through as "Unknown Name"; is there something I'm missing or do I need to call support for that as well?

Anyway, the main question is why one ooma line can't call the other? Do I need to bump up something in the QoS? My setup is Modem (DSL) to Ooma Hub to network router so the Ooma hub is running the show...

Thanks
#95682 by murphy
Tue May 08, 2012 1:50 pm
Two lines on an Ooma box can not call each other.
There is one reported exception. If both numbers have the same area code dial the 7 digit number followed by the # key.
I can't verify this since my two numbers have different area codes.

The intercom function may solve your problem.
#110081 by omegagx
Mon May 20, 2013 8:58 am
I have the same issue. I can't call the Linx secondary number from my primary Telo number and I can't call my primary Telo number from my secondary number. I don't see it anywhere in the Ooma documentation or any online FAQ. Is this a feature or a bug? If it's working as designed, why isn't it mentioned anywhere in the documentation?
#110139 by Tom
Tue May 21, 2013 1:44 pm