Unable to call work?

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
vette87
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Unable to call work?

Post by vette87 » Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:59 pm

Whats up guys? I'm having trouble calling my work. All other numbers works just fine. It's just my work number. Usually it would ring one time then an automated system would come on. Now it just rings one time and thats it. My work number is 210-225-5566. Could someone try calling this number just to see if the automated voice comes one. This has been happening for about a week.

Thanks..

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Unable to call work?

Post by thunderbird » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:16 pm

vette87 wrote:Whats up guys? I'm having trouble calling my work. All other numbers works just fine. It's just my work number. Usually it would ring one time then an automated system would come on. Now it just rings one time and thats it. My work number is 210-225-5566. Could someone try calling this number just to see if the automated voice comes one. This has been happening for about a week.

Thanks..
Using our Ooma Telo phone system, I called and after maybe five or six rings a recorded voice came on, it sounded like Paragon Technologies.

When you try again, if you hear it ring just one time, even if you don't hear any more ringing, wait for about a minute and see what happens. Sometimes the call will still go through.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Unable to call work?

Post by lbmofo » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:47 pm

Tried using Hub and Telo, nothing after 1st ring until disconnect.

Works using *99 dialing prefix though. Ft Sam Houston Commissary?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

vette87
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Unable to call work?

Post by vette87 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:59 am

thunderbird wrote:
vette87 wrote:Whats up guys? I'm having trouble calling my work. All other numbers works just fine. It's just my work number. Usually it would ring one time then an automated system would come on. Now it just rings one time and thats it. My work number is 210-225-5566. Could someone try calling this number just to see if the automated voice comes one. This has been happening for about a week.

Thanks..
Using our Ooma Telo phone system, I called and after maybe five or six rings a recorded voice came on, it sounded like Paragon Technologies.

When you try again, if you hear it ring just one time, even if you don't hear any more ringing, wait for about a minute and see what happens. Sometimes the call will still go through.
I've tried. It's a no go.. I unplugged the unit for a few hours and it's still not working..

vette87
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Unable to call work?

Post by vette87 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:01 am

lbmofo wrote:Tried using Hub and Telo, nothing after 1st ring until disconnect.

Works using *99 dialing prefix though. Ft Sam Houston Commissary?
Close, but no.. Ft. Sam Houston Main Exchange.. Thanks for the tip regarding *99. It does work..

joan
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:52 pm

Re: Unable to call work?

Post by joan » Fri Apr 20, 2012 7:44 am

I am having the same challenge with certain numbers this week. I used to be able to call them and now it rings and goes to thin air. I can call these numbers from my cell phone with no problem. These numbers go to an automated system with prompts. I just tried *99 and that works. What has ooma done recently to their network? Do we now have to dial *99 for normal calls and faxes now?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Unable to call work?

Post by lbmofo » Fri Apr 20, 2012 7:53 am

*99 prefix should not be required for regular calls. I'd email Ooma support with very recent examples from call log and have them investigate/rectify.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

joan
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 3:52 pm

Re: Unable to call work?

Post by joan » Fri Apr 20, 2012 8:26 am

I sent an email and will let you know what they say. I have been an Ooma customer for 3 years and never had this challenge making regular calls.

Post Reply