Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
artiecon
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by artiecon » Thu Jan 26, 2012 7:59 pm

When I tried to call 403-310-2255 Telus service number from Calgary, I received a warning telling me my call could not be made from my area. My OOMA number is in the 587 area code which should work in Calgary.

Are there restrictions on what numbers I can call?

artiecon
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by artiecon » Thu Jan 26, 2012 8:03 pm

The actual message was "You've dialed a number that cannot be reached from your calling area."

The number is definitely in my area...

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by lbmofo » Thu Jan 26, 2012 9:09 pm

How are you dialing it?

10 digit dialing enabled or disabled?

https://my.ooma.com/system

10-digit dialing lets you make long-distance calls without dialing the initial 1, just like on your cell phone.

This can introduce a short delay if you dial 7 digits for local calls. Press # after you dial to put the call through immediately.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

artiecon
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by artiecon » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:09 am

10 digit dialing is required in Alberta. I do not have that option checked in my setup. So just dialing that number caused that message to appear. Telus also has a 1-888 number which caused the same problem.

Would this be a Telus challenge- they don't want VoIP calling them????

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by murphy » Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:15 am

artiecon wrote:10 digit dialing is required in Alberta. I do not have that option checked in my setup. So just dialing that number caused that message to appear. Telus also has a 1-888 number which caused the same problem.

Would this be a Telus challenge- they don't want VoIP calling them????
If 10 digit dialing is required then you must check the 10 digit dialing box in your account.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

artiecon
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by artiecon » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:38 am

But I am dialing 10 digits. My 587 area code covers all of alberta and the number I'm calling is an Alberta area code (403)

The message begins with "416-11" before the "You've dialed a number that cannot be reached from your calling area" is repeated. The message is then repeated with the same spoken code "four one six eleven" then in french. English again then french, then a busy signal. The call never goes through.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by lbmofo » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:46 am

If you did not enable 10 digit dialing on My Ooma website, you need to dial a 1 before the area code I think.
To dial 10 digits all the time, enabling 10 digit dialing is better.
Last edited by lbmofo on Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by murphy » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:46 am

artiecon wrote:But I am dialing 10 digits. My 587 area code covers all of alberta and the number I'm calling is an Alberta area code (403)

The message begins with "416-11" before the "You've dialed a number that cannot be reached from your calling area" is repeated. The message is then repeated with the same spoken code "four one six eleven" then in french. English again then french, then a busy signal. The call never goes through.
If you don't check the 10 digit dialing box in your account it is not possible to dial a 10 digit number.
Check the box.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

murphy
Posts: 7208
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by murphy » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:48 am

lbmofo wrote:If you did not enable 10 digit dialing on My Ooma website, you need to dial a 1 before the area code I think.
To dial 10 digits all the time, enabling 10 digit dialing is better.
In a true 10 digit dialing area, you can't dial 11 digits for local calls. It's 10 digits or nothing.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

artiecon
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:58 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Re: Calling Alberta 310-xxxx number

Post by artiecon » Fri Jan 27, 2012 1:51 pm

OK, folks. I'm willing to do this but so you all know, I have had OOMA for a week, and have been dialing all other Alberta local 10 digit calls by dialing 10 digits and have had no problems.

I will check that box and try that 403-310-2255 number again.

Post Reply