Can't dial out

Having trouble placing or receiving calls or using your voicemail system on Ooma Telo VoIP Phones? Post your questions here.
Post Reply
nuckythompson
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:28 pm

Can't dial out

Post by nuckythompson » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:31 pm

I've recently set up Ooma for my house, I've been able to receive calls and I get the Ooma dial tone when I attempt to place a call but when I dial out I always get a busy signal. I've reset my modem, Ooma and switched out phones to no avail. I'd appreciate some help.

Thanks!

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Can't dial out

Post by thunderbird » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:36 pm

nuckythompson wrote:I've recently set up Ooma for my house, I've been able to receive calls and I get the Ooma dial tone when I attempt to place a call but when I dial out I always get a busy signal. I've reset my modem, Ooma and switched out phones to no avail. I'd appreciate some help.

Thanks!
If you have an Ooma Hub, try dialing *99 before the number.
If you have an Ooma Telo, try dialing *98 or *96 before dialing the number.
Example: *98-1-xxx-xxx-xxxx

Also report this problem to Ooma Customer Service:

Customer Support
Email: support@oomacare.com
Phone: 1-888-711-OOMA (6662)
Monday-Friday 7am-7pm PST
Saturday-Sunday 8am-5pm PST

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Can't dial out

Post by lbmofo » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:36 pm

One of the reasons you may have this situation is when you try to call numbers with same area code with 10 digits.

If you have a habit of dialing all 10 digits, set your system preference to enable 10 digit dialing: https://my.ooma.com/system
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
highq
Posts: 421
Joined: Fri Dec 25, 2009 10:11 am
Location: New York, NY

Re: Can't dial out

Post by highq » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:37 pm

Don't put it past Jimmy Darmody, Princeton education and all, to be the likely cause of your troubles.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Can't dial out

Post by lbmofo » Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:44 pm

highq wrote:Don't put it past Jimmy Darmody, Princeton education and all, to be the likely cause of your troubles.
Boardwalk might be the culprit :cool:
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply