Muffled Sound

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Muffled Sound

Post by ajw522 » Mon Oct 11, 2010 8:24 pm

I've been experiencing extremely muffled sound quality with my Ooma Telo. To the point where it is extremely hard to understand what the other person on the other line is saying. I've got my Telo behind my Cisco E1000 and the E1000 is handling QoS. Is anyone else experiencing this issue?
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: Muffled Sound

Post by Nat Ray » Tue Oct 12, 2010 1:59 am

Looking at your setup:

Setup: Motorola SB5101->Netgear WPN824->PowerLine->Linksys Cisco E1000->Telo

It appears that the E1000 is being used as an Access Point; as such, QoS should be handled by the WPN824 whose WAN port is directly connected to your modem. QoS should be disabled on the Access Point (E1000) . . . Best scenario would be to place the Telo behind the WPN824 . . .

Setup: Motorola SB5101->Netgear WPN824->Telo/Computers/PlayToys<-//PowerLine\\->Linksys Cisco E1000->Computers/PlayToys

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

User avatar
ajw522
Posts: 247
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 11:52 am
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: Muffled Sound

Post by ajw522 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 8:50 pm

The only place I can have it is after the E1000. I have QoS enabled on both the Netgear and the E1000.
Customer since August 2009
Hardware: Core Telo w/ HD2 Handset;2 ooma Hubs
Lifetime Premier Subscription
iPhone 7 Plus w/Ooma Mobile App
Internet: AT&T U-Verse 50Mbps

User avatar
nn5i
Posts: 554
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:02 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: Muffled Sound

Post by nn5i » Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:22 am

Nat Ray wrote:Looking at your setup:

Setup: Motorola SB5101->Netgear WPN824->PowerLine->Linksys Cisco E1000->Telo

It appears that the E1000 is being used as an Access Point; as such, QoS should be handled by the WPN824 whose WAN port is directly connected to your modem. QoS should be disabled on the Access Point (E1000) . . . Best scenario would be to place the Telo behind the WPN824 . . .

Setup: Motorola SB5101->Netgear WPN824->Telo/Computers/PlayToys<-//PowerLine\\->Linksys Cisco E1000->Computers/PlayToys

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
To me it looks like the E1000 is being used as a Client, or as a Client Bridge, not as an Access Point. But still, QOS, if used at all -- I see no reason to use it in this system -- if used at all, it should be active only on one component, the one furthest upstream. In this case that's the WPN824. But I'd turn it off everywhere.

Post Reply