Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:22 pm

I carried ooma to overseas (Singapore) and bought a telephone from local shop which seems to have no difference from the one you could buy in US.

However, I started to experience problems:

Basically, when the ooma system is first switched on. It works perfectly for about half an hour or so.

However, if I leave it on for longer, when I pick up the phone, ooma will immediately reboot (it is not disconnect but rather a REBOOT). After reboot the problem will persist. If I would want to use ooma, I'll have to switch it off for few hours and then turn it on so that I could use it for like half an hour.

The reason why I am suspecting the phone is because it always works when I am just trying to retrieve voice message by pressing the ">" button it works perfectly.

Any clues on non-US bought phones?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:52 pm

Looking at the jacks/plugs they use, they should use the same type of phones but not sure. I'd like to know too.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telephone_ ... s_they_use
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:00 pm

basically I'm not worried about the plug...

it is something "internally" I suspect.

Does an international phone "send" a different signal to connect when picked up?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Wed Sep 15, 2010 8:13 pm

I just asked a friend in India whether thier phones are the same as US and she said yes. When she brought her VoIP box over to India, she was able to plug a local Indian phone in and have it work.

Although India is not Singapore, if you are using the same kind of jacks, then the phones should be the same type as the ones here.

Have you tried another phone? Maybe a neighbor's?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:27 am

then that's probably not the reason. But what could be the cause of "picking up phone and restart ooma"?

Anybody experienced that before? I do not have that problem when I was in US.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:20 am

Someone else confirmed that phones in China are the same as the ones in US. So, you might want to try another phone. Maybe it is just the phone you got that's causing havoc.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

ntoy

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by ntoy » Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:50 am

Hello,

To add, is this a cordless phone using 2.4Ghz frequency? Any other electronic devices around the Ooma such as baby monitors, etc?

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Thu Sep 16, 2010 8:01 pm

This particular phone is made in China.

Also I tried with other phones in the house. Seems to be the same.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by lbmofo » Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:00 pm

I noticed that Singapore is 220V, are you using a power adapter to 110V on your Ooma?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

nmas
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:07 pm

Re: Does the use of a phone not bought in US cause any issue?

Post by nmas » Thu Sep 16, 2010 10:18 pm

nope... I bought a power converter that inputs 220v and output the same as the original ooma converter. Should I try another power converter?

Post Reply