This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#32472 by ROoma
Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:41 pm
Hello all,
This is mostly a rant and you probably can't help solving my problem, so don't waste your time unless you are a pinoy or someone with specific knowledge of internet in the philippines, or someone similar experience in the past. I apologize for my rant in advance, it's just been very frustrating.

I've been using ooma hub for about 2 years now. I have to say I love it! it was working beautifully in california and I've been using it for my online business from the get go. I have setup my business 800 number with AT&T forwarded to my ooma local california number and all my customers call from inside US.
I do not have to be in one place as all my business is done online or over the phone. So, I decided to take ooma on my long vacation to the philippines thinking internet connections couldn't be that bad since there are many call centers over there. Well, that was a big mistake! After being here for about 5 months, I've decided to leave just because of the phone issue. However, I won't be able to leave (personal reasons) for two more months.

After doing many VOIP tests (here: http://www.whichvoip.com/voip/speed_test/ppspeed.html) I'm pretty sure the issue is with ISP congestion, low QOS and high jitter.
For the most part, incoming voice is OK and I don't have a problem hearing people on the other end but they always complain they can't understand me because the line is too choppy, or they just hang up! this has caused me a lot of money and mental health.

I started reading some local tech forums on the subject, the majority of the poster agree the quality of your internet connection depends on where you live and should find out which is the best provider in that neighborhood.