Outgoing phone call can take 60 seconds to connect

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
atjaguarx
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:30 pm

Outgoing phone call can take 60 seconds to connect

Post by atjaguarx » Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:26 pm

When I attempt to make an outgoing phone call to one specific phone number, 80% of the time, the phone takes 50-60 seconds to begin ringing. It only happens when I call a specific number. I will dial the number and I will get 50-60 seconds of silence before it starts ringing. This has never happened on any other number that I have dialed. I still have my land line and, more often then not, I simply hang up and use my land line. It is rather annoying to wait 50 seconds before it even starts ringing. This is a number that I dial 2-3 times a day and the wait time is unacceptable.

I'm wondering if it has something to do with my destination phone service. I believe the person I'm calling is also on VOIP, though it is a corporate VOIP system. I have been calling this number for 3 years from my land line and have never experienced issues until I began using Ooma.

I have mentioned in my other threads, my Ooma experience was PERFECT for the first month. As I was about to port my phone number, I started having a number of issues (as evident by my other posts).

Has anyone else noticed this?

jhphone
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:49 pm

Re: Outgoing phone call can take 60 seconds to connect

Post by jhphone » Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:30 pm

When I dial a 7-digit local number there is always a pause of -- I guess -- about 10-15 seconds. I suspect this is because the Ooma system doesn't know if I may actually be dialing a 10-digit number ... slowly.

It's always faster to connect when dialing a 10 digit number.

murphy
Posts: 7165
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:49 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: Outgoing phone call can take 60 seconds to connect

Post by murphy » Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:48 pm

jhphone wrote:When I dial a 7-digit local number there is always a pause of -- I guess -- about 10-15 seconds. I suspect this is because the Ooma system doesn't know if I may actually be dialing a 10-digit number ... slowly.

It's always faster to connect when dialing a 10 digit number.
Dial an # after the 7 digit number.
Customer since January 2009
Telo with 2 Handsets, a Linx, and a Safety Phone
Telo2 with 2 Handsets and a Linx

atjaguarx
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 10:30 pm

Re: Outgoing phone call can take 60 seconds to connect

Post by atjaguarx » Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:10 pm

I always dial the full number with the area code. I never dial a 7 digit number. Hitting # at the end does not help at all.

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Outgoing phone call can take 60 seconds to connect

Post by thunderbird » Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:14 pm

atjaguarx wrote:I always dial the full number with the area code. I never dial a 7 digit number. Hitting # at the end does not help at all.
If you haven't already, go to My Ooma https://my.ooma.com/system and enable ten digit calling.

Then after dialing the number add a hash (#) mark.

pcwii
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 12:49 pm

Re: Outgoing phone call can take 60 seconds to connect

Post by pcwii » Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:45 pm

I have the same issue only when calling my brother. His Telecom is a rural service with multiple towns. Fibre to the premise. I have tried numerous Ooma (Hub) and router settings, QoS, NAT, even DMZ. The Hub is behind the router and have taken that in to every setup variation. The phone number digits is unrelated.

The issue appears to be a VoIP-to-VoIP compatibility issue. I had Qwest VoIP until the first of the year with no problem calling my brother. After a web search VoIP-to-VoIP compatibility is a nation wide issue and actions filed with the FCC. Level 1 technical support at Ooma may be already looking at this but i have a bad feeling about it. Best-effort here we come?
:o
CLif

I will post resolution in this case if there is one.

tech ref
http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios/12_ ... _dscp.html

Post Reply