This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#91835 by markcm
Mon Jan 16, 2012 10:25 am
Hi, I'm new to OOMA, and have a Telo hub. At first connection I had some pretty bad noise issues on the remote end only, the connection was pretty good on my end and I don't hear any of the noise. I have a panasonic 5.8ghz phone set that was plugged directly into the ooma and sitting right next to it; I suspected and read this might be an issue so I connected the Telo to my wall jack and then put the wireless phone in another room aobut 30 feet away. This seems to have resolved that issue of call quality when I am on the phone with my guest althoug I still have a severe intermittent noise that is only on the remote end during (some) answering machine/voicemail recordings.

This happens about half the time, on inbound calls as soon as the telo picks up as an answering machine there is a loud consistent frequency of about 5hz ticking noise. When this happens, it ticks at the same rate from the moment the telo picks up through out the complete call. When this happens, the noise is exclusively on the remote end, it cannot be heard at the telo or in the voice message recording. I am wondering if this is even happening on any of my hardware at my house or if it is possibley an OOMA thing; I presume that messeages are all recorded and stored on a server, not actually in the Telo hub?

I have download speeds up to or above 20mb and upload of about 5mb. I have X10 home automation hardware and my ethernet is extended using Zyxel ethernet over power line access points; those of course make me a little suspicious but based on this noise only existing on the remote end and being intermittent I don't personally think those are the highest suspects. (granted I don't know much about this ooma stuff).