This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
#75767 by tomcat
Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:12 pm
I'm new to VoIP services and have had my Telo for about 6 days. Call quality is great except for the delay. (The delay is close to that of a cell phone.) I have tried many of the suggestions from thunderbird as well as other users on the forum and have even hooked the Telo up directly to my modem with nothing else attached (PCs, routers) without any luck. It doesn't get worse, but it doesn't get better.

Since I am new to VoIP my questions are: is some delay normal (and expected) when using VoIP or should it be just as responsive as a land line phone. When delays are being discussed are you referring to any delay or just unusually high delays.

Thanks for reading and I appreciate your help.
#75769 by lbmofo
Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:29 pm
I think delays are the norm with VoIP. Some service with less delays than others. I have no issues with my Ooma because delays are more significant with my cell. In general, folks getting delay values less than cell should have no issues with their Ooma service (unless they've never used cell service before).

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9569&start=110#p69203
#75771 by murphy
Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:53 pm
There will always be some delay, even on a landline circuit.
An electrical impulse travels at a speed of about 1.5 nanoseconds per foot in a wire.

Take a 3000 mile path.
That's 15,840,000 feet.
that's 23,760,000 nanoseconds or 23,760 microseconds or 23.76 milliseconds.
The round trip time is twice that or 47.52 milliseconds.

It can't be done any faster than that.
Fortunately the human ear can't detect that short of a delay.

When sending data over the internet the packets can take lots of different paths.
The packets can arrive out of order and must be reassembled in the correct order.