Buzz using comcast.

This forum includes tips for maintaining the best audio quality possible with the Ooma System. If your Ooma system is having issues with dropped calls, static audio or echo, look here for assistance.
Post Reply
AD_Mega
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:29 am

Buzz using comcast.

Post by AD_Mega » Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:56 am

I use to have verizon fios at my old place and ooma was crystal clear. I can only get comcast at my new place. I hear a buzzing sound while using ooma on comcast. Any suggestions on how to make the buzz go away?

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Buzz using comcast.

Post by thunderbird » Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:24 pm

Are you using the same modem that you had before at the other place?

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Buzz using comcast.

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:42 pm

Did you add a router to the mix after you got cable internet? Have you tried hard wired phone and see if same noise?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

AD_Mega
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Buzz using comcast.

Post by AD_Mega » Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:30 pm

Different modem and router so that may be the problem. I'm using concast RCA modem and linksys WRT54G router.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Buzz using comcast.

Post by lbmofo » Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:33 pm

Do you get the buzz if you use a corded phone?
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

thunderbird
Posts: 6388
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Buzz using comcast.

Post by thunderbird » Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:38 pm

How are you set up? Modem-Ooma-Router or Modem-Router-Ooma?

JacobsLive
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:36 pm

Re: Buzz using comcast.

Post by JacobsLive » Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:04 pm

I would suggest you check your upload speed using speedtest.net. Some areas particularly in apartments Comcast has worst service. If your upload speed is stable try connecting Modem->Ooma->Router. If you are connecting Modem->Router->Ooma, make sure that your router is plug-n-play model as Ooma might be trying to open some ports and for outbound/inbound traffic and that might be failing.
NetTALK Duo: 07-30-2011 | Ooma: 01-20-2011 | PhonePower: 01-29-2009 to 07-31-2011 | Verizon FIOS (35/35): 11-20-2009 | VoipDiscount: 02-20-2007 | Panasonic KX TG9391T with 3 Handsets

AD_Mega
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:29 am

Re: Buzz using comcast.

Post by AD_Mega » Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:39 pm

I have it connected modem-router-ooma. I don't have a wired phone so i haven't tried that. I bought a new router but still hear a little buzz but it is less noticable.

Post Reply