connecting to you ooma telo behind a router

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
kblgy
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:05 pm

connecting to you ooma telo behind a router

Post by kblgy » Sat Nov 06, 2010 8:28 pm

ok i see alot of posts about this so i would like to help clear something up.

if you are behing a router it seem all anyone ever says to connect to your telo is you need to hook a pc to the back of the unit. this is not true althought it will will work fo rthis http://setup.ooma.com .

instead of this all you really need to do if your telo is behind a router is get it's new ip address from your router and type it in. it's that easy. this is my ip address for my ooma http://192.168.0.190/ it is behind my router and and this is the ip my router has assigned it.

so if you have your ooma behind a router and need to access it, it's easier just to get the correct ip from your router then to keep playing with wires.

just trying to help.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: connecting to you ooma telo behind a router

Post by southsound » Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:03 pm

kblgy wrote:ok i see alot of posts about this so i would like to help clear something up.

if you are behing a router it seem all anyone ever says to connect to your telo is you need to hook a pc to the back of the unit. this is not true althought it will will work fo rthis http://setup.ooma.com .

instead of this all you really need to do if your telo is behind a router is get it's new ip address from your router and type it in. it's that easy. this is my ip address for my ooma http://192.168.0.190/ it is behind my router and and this is the ip my router has assigned it.

so if you have your ooma behind a router and need to access it, it's easier just to get the correct ip from your router then to keep playing with wires.

just trying to help.
Good intentions, but the reason some of us talk about connecting a PC to the Home Network port of the Telo is so they can tweak some of the settings exposed in setup.ooma.com. One of the most important ones is to set the MODEM Port MAC Address to Use Built In. This can save you lots of problems. But wait, there's more - if you want to use BlueTooth, it is enabled from the setup screen. You can check your software revision using the Status tab. You can also set up Port Forwarding from this configuration so you never have to connect your PC to the Home Network port again - you can reach it from PC's connected to your router or switch.

So yes, you can easily run your Telo or hub after your router. Many of us do. Note that in this configuration, your ooma is not able to control QoS so you may want to prioritize RTP traffic - especially if you are a gamer or do bit torrent transfers. But there are times that you will want to reach the setup pages. Stick around and read for a while. As your understanding of the ooma system grows, your posts will be more valuable.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

kblgy
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: connecting to you ooma telo behind a router

Post by kblgy » Sun Nov 07, 2010 5:08 am

you must be mistaken i do access this page http://setup.ooma.com from this ip http://192.168.0.190/ .

i can do anything you can just bye following my instructions.


i added an attachment so show you what i mean.
ooma page.gif
ooma page
ooma page.gif (78.63 KiB) Viewed 12907 times

kblgy
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:05 pm

Re: connecting to you ooma telo behind a router

Post by kblgy » Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:00 am

also southsound, i see you help out alot of people here and i am greatfull for any help i may need also.. iwas actuelly trying yo give instructions cause i found and easyier way to do it and maybe labled my post wrong.

sry for that and thank you for helping me out .

kpsimm
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 9:30 pm

Re: connecting to you ooma telo behind a router

Post by kpsimm » Sun Apr 07, 2013 9:36 pm

In order to access the Ooma Telo's web interface that is connected to your router through the Telo's internet port you must enable the "Allow access to web interface from INTERNET port" setting found on the Advanced page.

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: connecting to you ooma telo behind a router

Post by lbmofo » Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:56 am

Or you define port forward rule: viewtopic.php?t=11921#p83732
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply