Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Lee » Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:12 pm

Thanks, guys. One last question, I know you need to set QoS on the router and Ooma. I have never used a router before and don't have a clue what I'm doing. Where do I find those settings on each unit.

Again, thank you

Lee

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Nat Ray » Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:58 pm

If the Telo is configured behind the router, QoS on Telo is disabled by setting download and upload values to zero. (Actually this setting is of no value, because nothing will be attached to the Telo's Home port.)

Ref: https://www.ooma.com/support/knowledgeb ... ty-service

Depending upon the router, it has a web interface. Refer to your router's documentation on how to access its settings.

What router do you have?

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Lee » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:19 pm

I got the dink dir 655, Nat. I don't have it yet as I just ordered it from Amazon on Thursday.

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Nat Ray » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:03 am

Use the URL below to download and read your router's user manual:

http://www.dlink.com/products/?tab=3&pi ... ev=DIR-655

The QoS Engine is disabled by default on this router, and must be enabled via its web interface . . .

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Lee » Sun Sep 26, 2010 10:21 am

Thanks, Nat. :cool:

Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Lee » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:12 am

THREE DAYS LATER:

This did not go well. I tried for hours to get the router up and running with Ooma and Sonos and failed. Can someone please help me?

Here's what I have now - Cable running out of modem and into Ooma internet. Out of Ooma and into Sonos. Out of Sonos and back to my computer. Everything works great.

What I tried to do - Cable out of modem and into Ooma (as Ooma directions say go to into Ooma first). Then out of Ooma and into router internet port. Out of router port one and into Sonos. Out of Sonos and back to computer. I turned both units off first so they could reboot when turned back on. Waited 10 or 15 minutes so they could establish new setup. Nothing.

Anyone know what I did wrong?

Thanks

Lee

WayneDsr
Posts: 3790
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:28 pm
Location: Northern Indiana

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by WayneDsr » Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:19 am

I would connect the modem directly to the router. Power cycle the modem, then the router.

Connect a pc to the router and reboot it (if it was on) to obtain an ip address from the router. You should have internet.

Connect Ooma to the router. It should obtain an ip and connect fine.

Connect SONOS to the router, that should hook up as well.

QOS, if needed, will be controlled from the router, not ooma.

Wayne
ooma customer since January 2009
ooma hardware: core (hub/scout) and Telo
Lifetime Premier Member

Lee
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 4:02 pm

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Lee » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:48 pm

Wayne, you're a saint. Everything works like a champ. Thank you, sir. :cool:

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by lbmofo » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:58 pm

Lee wrote:Wayne, you're a saint. Everything works like a champ. Thank you, sir. :cool:
Nat Ray is also a Saint, check out his avatar! ;)
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

User avatar
Nat Ray
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 7:26 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA

Re: Sonos internet radio and Ooma set-up

Post by Nat Ray » Thu Sep 30, 2010 3:30 pm

lbmofo wrote:Nat Ray is also a Saint, check out his avatar! ;)
LMFAO . . .

Best regards,
Nat Ray :cool:
Cox Communications > Motorola SB5120 > Netgear RangeMax WNDR3700 > Telo / Cisco Catalyst 2924 XL
Telo Handset / Panasonic KX-TG6445 + 7 other handsets = 12
3 Desktops / 4 Laptops / XBOX360 / Wii

QoS managed by router via Ethernet port . . .

Post Reply