Plug in order

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
DawnW
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:10 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Plug in order

Post by DawnW » Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:44 am

Ok, for some reason we are having problems this am.

I have been on the phone with RoadRunner and finally got my internet to work and have hit all reset buttons and have plugged everything back in a few times.....

Still flashing red light on Ooma although my wireless is now working.

Remind me again.....plug in order......

Modem- Ooma- Router

Right?

I can't find my instructions at the moment but don't want to go through this again if I am doing this in the wrong order.

Thanks,

Dawn

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Plug in order

Post by lbmofo » Wed Sep 22, 2010 6:47 am

Yes, that's the recommended setup.

With everything off, power up modem, wait til it gets online, then ooma til blue, then router.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

DawnW
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:10 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Plug in order

Post by DawnW » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:26 am

Ah, ok. I wasn't waiting until it starts before plugging in the next thing.

I will try that.

Thanks,

Dawn

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Plug in order

Post by lbmofo » Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:51 am

You can have everything connected already as far as ethernet connections, just need to start off with everything off and turn on the power one by one.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

DawnW
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 4:10 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Re: Plug in order

Post by DawnW » Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:31 am

It is finally working! I guess 6th time is a charm!

Thank you,

Dawn

User avatar
lbmofo
Posts: 9337
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Greater Seattle
Contact:

Re: Plug in order

Post by lbmofo » Wed Sep 22, 2010 9:33 am

Is the little lights by the modem port (to internet) in the back of ooma flashing? If not, unplug the ethernet cable and plug in again. Preferrably, swap the plug ends with your modem.
Customer Since: 3/13/10
Hardware: Telo & Hub
Service: Premier 12/06/10
Verizon Port: 3/15/10 - 4/02/10
Internet: 100 Mbps/10 Mbps
Setup: SB6141/R6700/Ooma
MainStreetSHARES Ebates: get Ca$h Back when you shop online!!

Image

Post Reply