Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect Problem Solved

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect Problem Solved

Post by virgusa » Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:23 am

Red lights on scout after disconnecting Windsteam at the box.

Hub phone line works. Just the scout does not have a dial tone and red lights.
Last edited by virgusa on Sun Aug 01, 2010 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
southsound
Posts: 3519
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:31 am
Location: Harstine Island, WA

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by southsound » Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:28 am

Let me understand - I believe Windstream is your Internet provider, correct? Then it is perfectly normal for the scout to become a brick when the Internet is down. As I recall, you also have an integrated landline or at least have your hub WALL jack connected to the landline. The hub is designed to offer fallback to your landline when either the network is down or the power goes off. It sounds like your system is working properly if my assumptions are correct.
ooma customer since February 2009
VoIP hardware: 2 Telo w/3 handsets & Linx / ooma core
Total Lines: 8 / Numbers: 11 / Handsets: 20
Lifetime Premier Member
Friends don't remember what Landline Integration was or why we did it.

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by virgusa » Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:44 am

Cable modem is Internet provider.

Thanks.

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by virgusa » Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:46 am

I ported my number from Windstream and am using my phone jacks to distribute dial tone. I have the hub connected from Modem and then to Router. The Scout is plugged into another phone jack in the home and another cordless phone plugged into the Scout.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by Groundhound » Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:57 am

virgusa wrote:I ported my number from Windstream and am using my phone jacks to distribute dial tone. I have the hub connected from Modem and then to Router. The Scout is plugged into another phone jack in the home and another cordless phone plugged into the Scout.
By what means are the Hub & Scout's wall ports connected to each other? Are you using a splitter to distribute both dialtone from the Hub's phone port and HPNA from the Hub's wall port or do you have the Hub's wall port connected to a separate wire pair in your house wiring?

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by virgusa » Sat Jul 31, 2010 11:02 am

They are connected to separate wire pairs in the house.

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by Groundhound » Sat Jul 31, 2010 11:53 am

virgusa wrote:They are connected to separate wire pairs in the house.
To determine if the problem lies with wiring or with the Hub/Scout, temporarily relocate the Scout to the same room as the Hub and connect their wall ports together with a different phone cord. If the Scout works then the problem is with wiring.

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by virgusa » Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:08 pm

Thanks. If I use a splitter and connect the Hub & Scout to the Wall Port on the Hub they both work. I have evidently disconnected the jack from the box outside that I had the Scout plugged into.

virgusa
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by virgusa » Sat Jul 31, 2010 12:39 pm

Here is my wiring mess.

Image

Groundhound
Posts: 2711
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 9:28 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Scout Red Lights after Windstream disconnect

Post by Groundhound » Sat Jul 31, 2010 3:21 pm

Looks like the phone company lines are still connected on the left side, and I can't tell what (if anything) has been changed on the customer side (right). If your wall port to wall port connections were previously on the second pair (line 2) in your house wiring, and it worked, I'd put everything back the way it was and break the telco connections at their terminal block where the four wires on the left side are connected - making sure to insulate the ends with wire nuts or something similar so they don't short.

Post Reply