Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
#59708 by janner
Sun Jul 11, 2010 9:30 am
Hello all!
I received and connected my Telo on Friday. I currently only have one telephone connected to the phone jack on the back of the Telo box. I have a cable connection through Road Runner.

I decided NOT to port my old phone number and just took a new one from Ooma. Tomorrow, I will be canceling my phone service with Bell South/AT&T. Once I am sure that has been terminated, I would like to disconnect the wires in the outside telephone Network Interface box, so that I can plug my Telo right into an existing phone jack and then distribute the dial tone to all the existing jacks (7) in our house, not that I will have a phone connected to every jack.

I have read some of the posts on the forum as to how to do this, but as I am a total newbie re: phones, Ooma and electric wires, I just want to make sure I will do everything correctly.

Here's a close up shot of my NI box (I cropped out the rest of it because there are no wires or connections on the other side):

QUESTION 1:

Am I correct that I need to:
(1) Unplug the modular plug
(2) Unscrew the top screws and disconnect those wires and wrap them (greens)
(3) Unscrew the bottom screws and disconnect and wrap those wires as well (reds)

Since there are no other wires I have access to (although there is a gaggle of wires of all colors behind those screws that I have no access to), am I correct that there is nothing else for me to do except post a note that I have modified the box and close it up?

Shot of wires exiting box and going into the house:

QUESTION 2: