fax

Need extra help installing your Ooma Hub or Telo system? Let us know.
Post Reply
bryreich
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 4:23 am

fax

Post by bryreich » Thu Jun 10, 2010 4:31 am

Is it possible to connect to a pc fax/modem? I've had no luck in trying to do so.

ibradly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:01 pm

Re: fax

Post by ibradly » Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:47 am

I've not connected a PC fax-modem to my Telo. I do use my HP Officejet print/scan/fax to send faxes without problems. I simply dial *99, FAX-NUMBER and it goes through.
Ooma Telo (user since 02/13/2010)
Cox HSI 15 Mbps/2 Mbps Preferred tier
Apple Airport Extreme
Vtech LS6215-2 phone system
Modem -> Router -> Telo

earl pettit
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:23 am

Re: fax

Post by earl pettit » Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:32 am

I have been trying to connect my fax up and because I have a shared line (house phone on one line and the fax on the other) I cannot recieve faxes on auto answer because my voice mail message comes on. Is this becasue of the shared line situation?

ibradly
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:01 pm

Re: fax

Post by ibradly » Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:44 am

@earl pettit

Is your fax line a "personal number" as part of Ooma Premier? If so, you might try assigning the fax number a "custom ring pattern." Then, on most fax machines anyways, you can tell it to answer only when it detects the custom ring pattern. This is sometimes referred to as "distinctive ring."
Ooma Telo (user since 02/13/2010)
Cox HSI 15 Mbps/2 Mbps Preferred tier
Apple Airport Extreme
Vtech LS6215-2 phone system
Modem -> Router -> Telo

rlamond
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:08 am

Re: fax

Post by rlamond » Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:12 am

I have a Dell Laser MFP 1815 and can't get the fax to work - dialed *99 with several pauses but fax won't go out. I've got all my house jacks connected to Ooma and no separate landline. I've disabled ECM on my fax machine. Did a test with a friend at his fax machine and he said he got a "weak ring" at his end when dialed but nothing came out the other end. My "report" indicates fax went through "OK." Any ideas appreciated. Love Ooma, but have to have fax for home office.

User avatar
DTMF
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: fax

Post by DTMF » Sun Jun 27, 2010 4:51 pm

rlamond wrote:I have a Dell Laser MFP 1815 and can't get the fax to work - dialed *99 with several pauses but fax won't go out. I've got all my house jacks connected to Ooma and no separate landline. I've disabled ECM on my fax machine. Did a test with a friend at his fax machine and he said he got a "weak ring" at his end when dialed but nothing came out the other end. My "report" indicates fax went through "OK." Any ideas appreciated. Love Ooma, but have to have fax for home office.
You might try connecting the fax machine directly to the Ooma device to see if the problem is in your home telephone wiring. Mine is connected directly through a splitter and I've never had a problem with sending, as long as I use the *99 prefix.
Ooma customer since November 2009.
Formerly employed at another VoIP company.
My opinions are my own.

rlamond
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:08 am

Re: fax

Post by rlamond » Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:05 pm

I will try that when I return from a current trip but I somehow doubt it. MFP is in my home office upstairs well away from the Ooma so I sort of hope it doesn't work after I lug it downstairs to test the "direct" connection! Worked for the past two years just fine with Cox Digital Phone...
Thanks!

Post Reply